Learning objectives:
Students will learn how to search a database (i.e., CAS SciFinder-n), save references to a citation management tool (i.e., EndNote Web), and create a bibliography following the style of a specific journal. Upon completion of the session, students will be able to:
**Please note that the graded library exercise can be found on the Canvas course site, under the 'Assignments' or 'Quizzes' module.**
For additional information about CAS SciFinder-n, EndNote Web, and JACS style citations - including where to go for help or to access training - please see the boxes below.
NOTE: In order to use CAS SciFinder-n, you must first *REGISTER* (click on the 'registering' link under the Connection note on https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/databases/cas-scifinder-n.)
CAS SciFinder-n is the electronic counterpart and continuation of the print publication Chemical Abstracts. It indexes chemistry literature worldwide, including journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, technical reports, government documents, and more. It is considered a comprehensive resource for chemical substance and reaction information, covering chemical structures, reactions, chemical suppliers, biosequences, and experimental and predictive retrosynthetic analyses for known and novel substances. It is possible to search by research topic, author name, DOI, patent number, chemical name, chemical structure, chemical reaction, and more. New features to aid your research include sorting by relevance, multi-tab browsing, citation mapping, and touchscreen-enabled structure drawing. Coverage dates: 1907-present
Additional notes: SciFinder Web will be retired June 30, 2022. The client version of SciFinder was discontinued on June 30, 2011.
EndNote (desktop) is a program that helps users collect and organize references from online or other sources, create a searchable personal database of references, find fulltext articles, manage and annotate PDF files, cite references while writing a paper, create bibliographies formatted in a preferred style, and more.
EndNote basic / EndNote Web is a web-based version of EndNote (desktop), designed to work in the cloud. Users who work from multiple computers, or need to work collaboratively may find EndNote basic very useful. EndNote and EndNote basic are designed to work in concert although each can be used independently. By using EndNote basic users can synchronize their libraries with EndNote desktop providing a secure backup and the ability to work on projects from any computer with an internet connection. Users can also share their libraries with colleagues or fellow students. A free EndNote basic account can be created from within EndNote or Web of Science, or at MyEndNoteWeb.com.
EndNote for iPad app is free for download from the Apple Store to all EndNote users. The app allows users to find, store, create, and share references anywhere and anytime. It also enables PDF annotations directly within the app.
For information on how to use EndNote (desktop), take a look at these resources:
Examples of journal article citations from the paper include:
(1) Mannix, A. J.; Zhou, X. F.; Kiraly, B.; Wood, J. D.; Alducin, D.; Myers, B. D.; Liu, X. L.; Fisher, B. L.; Santiago, U.; Guest, J. R.; Yacaman, M. J.; Ponce, A.; Oganov, A. R.; Hersam, M. C.; Guisinger, N. P. Synthesis of borophenes: Anisotropic, two-dimensional boron polymorphs. Science 2015, 350 (6267), 1513−1516.
(2) Feng, B. J.; Zhang, J.; Zhong, Q.; Li, W. B.; Li, S.; Li, H.; Cheng, P.; Meng, S.; Chen, L.; Wu, K. H. Experimental realization of two-dimensional boron sheets. Nat. Chem. 2016, 8 (6), 563−568.
* Important Note: if you are using the auto-generated EndNote Web JACS citations, be sure to abbreviate the journal titles per CASSI and make any other necessary modifications to adhere to the above examples *
© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.