Introduction to Graduate Liberal Studies
Databases A-Z
As an interdisciplinary field, Liberal Studies research may incorporate the scholarly literature of almost any academic discipline. If you're looking for a database to suit your topic, the best place to start is the Databases page.
The Databases page includes an alphabetical list of all the databases to which Rutgers subscribes, as well as the option to filter the list by subject area or resource type (such as articles, books, data, primary sources). Each database has an "About" link that provides more information about its scope and coverage.
Finding Articles
Here are some of the major databases used across Rutgers. Although these will likely not be the only databases you need to consult, they are all excellent places for you to search for peer-reviewed articles. Depending on your topic, any of these would be good places to start your research.
- Academic Search PremierAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
- America: History and LifeThe America: History and Life database covers United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.
- Communication and Mass Media CompleteCommunication & Mass Media Complete is a database of scholarly literature on all aspects of communication studies, including discourse, linguistics, media studies, and rhetoric.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar searches across a wide range of scholarly literature from around the world.When you use this Rutgers University Libraries link to access Google Scholar, you will see a "Get it @ R" link next to every resource available from Rutgers University Libraries.
- JSTORJSTOR provides electronic access to back runs of more than 2,000 important scholarly journals in many disciplines, including literature, history, African American Studies, and more.
- MLA International BibliographyThe MLA International Bibliographyindexes critical scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, and the teaching of language and literature in journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials.
- APA PsycInfoAPA PsycInfo is an index of scholarly literature in behavioral sciences and mental health fields. It is relevant to the study of psychology and related fields, such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work
- ProQuest Social Science PremiumProQuest Social Science Premium Collection is the parent collection that contains all social sciences content available through ProQuest. It covers anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, sociology, and more.
- Sociological AbstractsSociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
QuickSearch
In addition to our subject-specific and multidisciplinary databases, you can also search for articles using QuickSearch, a single search portal designed to make finding sources easier. QuickSearch can be found on almost every Libraries webpage.
Rutgers University Libraries designed QuickSearch to search our entire book collection (print and electronic) plus a majority of our electronic resources, so it can be a good place to do initial research and search broadly across resource types and subject areas. The only caveat is that subject-specific databases, such as those listed above, may include articles that are not findable via QuickSearch and may also offer more advanced ways to construct a search or limit your results.
