Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

History of Public Health: Finding Images & Other Primary Sources

Timelines plus

Pandemic Influenza Historic Timelines
From the 1918 Pandemic to the 2009 H1N1 Influenza Pandemic. From the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
The History of Vaccines
Includes a timeline, articles, and images. From the College of Physicians of Philadelphia.
Years of Ebola Virus Disease Outbreaks
From th Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Declassified Documents

U.S. Declassified Documents Online
Full text access to a broad range of previously classified federal documents spanning the twentieth and twenty first centuries. Rutgers-restricted access

Finding Images

Images from the History of Medicine (IHM)
Over 70,000 images plus other digitized materials that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to the 21st centuries. From the National Library of Medicine

Digital Libaries

Empire Online
A fulltext collection of essays and associated primary sources focusing primarily on the British Empire. Rutgers-restricted Access
Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics
Digital collection from Harvard University. Includes digitized copies of books, serials, pamphlets, incunabula, and manuscripts.
Tuskegee Syphilis Study: Digitized Documents from the U.S National Archives
World Health Organization: List of Research Subjects
List of health topics. Some with significant digital resources; other in process.

The Internet Archive

Internet Archive
Want to follow the CDC's response to a particular issue? Go to the Internet Archive, enter: https://www.cdc.gov into the Wayback Machine, and select the year and date that you would like to see.
RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.