Books
How to Read a Paper by Call Number: W20.5 G813h 2010 Reserve Smith LibraryISBN: 9781444334364Publication Date: 2010-05-24Everyone seeks to avoid getting into a lawsuit, but what do you do if this does happen?Getting sued for medical malpractice is one of the most traumatic events of a physician’s career.This text will guide doctors and physicians through the process from the moment they receive a summons until the after-trial appeal process; Containing valuable information that physicians need to know to prevent making critical mistakes that can hurt their case With strategies explained to maximize their chances of a defendantâ²s verdict. Including vital information on how to change your attorney, act at the deposition and dress for court,Navigating through what is a mysterious and terrifying process in non-legalese language that is easy to understand including what makes patients angry, strategies for coping, sample questions and tips on answering them to what happens in court and how to continue if there is a bad outcome.
Evidence-Based Medicine by Call Number: WB102 E93 2000ISBN: 0443062404Publication Date: 2000-02-29EVIDENCE BASED MEDICINE is the bible of EBM. Known as the ultimate authority on the subject, this text was written by the foremost experts in the field. Instead of basing medical decisions on tradition, this resource teaches doctors how to integrate individual clinical expertise with the available external evidence from systematic research to provide patients with the best possible care. Readers will be taught how to ask, translate, critically appraise, and integrate clinical questions. The book is packaged with a FREE CD-ROM containing extended descriptions and sample web pages of several current evidence sources. Spanish version also available, ISBN: 84-8174-511-1
Comprehensive Systematic Review for Advanced Nursing Practice by Call Number: WY128 H746c 2012 Reserve Smith LibraryISBN: 9780826117786Publication Date: 2011-08-01This textbook is specifically designed to meet the objectives of the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) competency that relates to "Clinical Scholarship and Analytical Methods for Evidence-Based Practice." It provides the knowledge and skills necessary for DNP students, faculty and advanced practice nurses to conduct a comprehensive systematic review (CSR). The text sets forth a rigorous, step-by-step approach to the process of conducting a literature search, including both quantitative and qualitative studies, as well as "grey" literature. It describes how to extract and synthesize the most relevant data, how to integrate systematic reviews into practice, and how to disseminate the results. The volume begins by addressing the basic concepts of systematic reviews and their relationship to clinical practice and policy, before delineating the systematic steps of this process along with the development of a systematic review proposal and clinical question. The book then describes how to find and select the best available evidence and explores specific types of systematic reviews, including experimental, observational, and economic evidence, and explores the current and future use of the process.
Systematic Reviews to Support Evidence-Based Medicine by Call Number: WB102 S995 2003 Smith LibraryISBN: 9781853155253Publication Date: 2010-11-15All healthcare professionals would benefit from an understanding of the principles of preparing reviews. This book provides expert guidance on the interpretation and practical application of systematic reviews. It is aimed at health professionals who, for any number of reasons, may decide to appraise and undertake reviews. This title simplifies and explains the key steps involved in reviewing literature, so that the reader is in a position to assess the recommendations of published reviews and practice guidelines and undertake a review themselves.
Tools
- EndNote is a program that helps users collect and organize references from online or other sources, create a searchable personal database of references, find full text articles, manage and annotate PDF files, cite references while writing a paper, create bibliographies formatted in a preferred style, and more. The Libraries are licensed to provide access to EndNote for students, faculty, and staff of all Rutgers University students, faculty and staff. For some useful information on using EndNote please see the Library guide at http://libguides.rutgers.edu/_endnote
EndNote can be downloaded at http://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/EndNote . You will need to Log in with your NetID to download the program.
- When installing EndNote, make sure you save the zipped file and then unzip it (extracting all). Place all the extracted files in a SEPARATE folder. Then clicking the Installer in the new folder should allow you to install the program properly.
- If you are a distance learner and are having difficulty downloading EndNote, please contact 972-972-9551 or 973-972-4358 in Newark, 732-235-7604 in New Brunswick for further instructions.
For more information on how to use EndNote, please visit the EndNote Tutorials guide or the EndNote Blog for FAQs.
- Systematic Review Toolbox - a searchable online catalogue of tools to support systematic reviews -
http://systematicreviewtools.com/index.php
- Rayyan - a free screening tool for systematic reviews and scoping reviews -
- JBI SUMARI available via subscribed OVID platform (Medline or APA PsycInfo) -
https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/indexes/medline_ovid
- Review Manager (RevMan) - software used for preparing and maintaining Cochrane Reviews -https://training.cochrane.org/online-learning/core-software-cochrane-reviews/revman
Guidelines and Other Resources
- Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions - https://www.radioterapiaitalia.it/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/cochrane-handbook-for-systematic-reviews-of-interventions.pdf
- PRISMA (Transparent Reporting of Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analysis) - http://www.prisma-statement.org/
- Systematic Review Data Repository Plus (SRDR+) via AHRQ - https://srdrplus.ahrq.gov/
- PROSPERO (International prospective register of systematic reviews) - https://www.crd.york.ac.uk/prospero/
- Data Extraction in Systematic Reviews: Navigating SRDR+ Tutorial by Dr. James Scott Parrott - https://sites.rutgers.edu/shp-msst/navigating-srdr/
- “Doing Meta-Analysis in R” by Harer et al (a free online book in bookdown.org, recommended by Dr. J. Scott Parrott - https://bookdown.org/MathiasHarrer/Doing_Meta_Analysis_in_R/
- Systematic Review Toolbox - a searchable online catalogue of tools to support systematic reviews - http://systematicreviewtools.com/index.php