Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

German, Slavic, & East European Languages & Literatures

Assisting your research in German, Slavic, and East European Studies

A Note on Reference Works

Learning Goals for Russian Majors include "learn how to effectively use tools (reference works, internet, etc.) and technology appropriate to learning Russian." 

Librarians and scholars may use the term "reference works" differently.  Encyclopedias, dictionaries, bibliographies, and periodical indexes are traditionally placed in library reference rooms and can't be checked out in order that they will be available for on site consultation.  Researchers increasingly expect to find this kind of information online.  RUL often acquires variants that are available over the internet, but licenses are expensive.  Freely available resources may serve a similar purpose, but their scholarly reliability may be uncertain; look for statements of responsiblity!
Books in Alex Reference can now be checked out, and older reference books may often be found in Stacks. 
The scholar's definition of "reference book" often includes authoritative monographs and standard works outside of the library definition provided above.  The Cambridge Histories series fit both groups' definition, and we have many of the component volumes in print reference collections and also online.   The box below left lists reference books specific to Russian Studies.

Reference Books

Modern Encyclopedia of Russian and Soviet History.  Gulf Breeze, FL: Academic International Press, 1976--. 61 + 9 v.  Alexander and Dana Reference, DK14.M6
Camden Law Library Ginsburgs DK36 .M55 1976 GINSB

Encyclopedia of Russian History.  New York: Macmillan Reference, 2004. 4 v.  Robeson Reference DK14.E53 2004 and Online [Rutgers Restricted]

Russkii biograficheskii slovar'.  1896-1918; reprinted 1962.  25 v., Alexander Reference CT1203.R7 1962 and full text in      HathiTrust

Ėnt͡siklopedicheskīĭ slovarʹ, podʺ red I.E. Andreevskago. St. Petersburg: F.A. Brokgauz,  1890-1904.  41 v., Annex AE55.E6 and full text in HathiTrust

 

Russian Cinema

Russian Films at Rutgers (DVDs and videotapes only; no streaming)

Kino-teatr.ru                                                Natsional'nyi kino portal: Film.ru
International Film Festival-Stalkerfest          

Directory of World Cinema, Russia.   Bristol, UK ; Chicago : Intellect, 2011.  Online [Rutgers Restricted]

Streaming sources at Rutgers that include Russian video:

Microforms in the Alexander Library

Alexander Library has the following major sets in microfilm or microfiche:

Russia. Gosudarstvennaia Duma. Stenograficheskie Otchety. April 27, 1906-February 25, 1917 (58 microfilm reels), US diplomatic correspondence from Russia and the Soviet Union, 1910-45 (341 microfilm reels), Internal Affairs 1910-1929 (176 reels), Political relations between Russia (and the Soviet Union) and other states, 1910-1929 (20 reels), British diplomatic correspondence from Russia, 1704-76 (100 microfiche), statistical yearbooks of Russia, 1904-11 (59 microfiche) and Soviet Union, 1956-65 with some retro data (79 microfiche), and the journal of the Russian Ministry of Education: Zhurnal Ministerstva narodnogo prosvi͡eshchenii͡a, 1834-1917 (166 microfiche boxes at Doc Microfiche 6001) in Government Documents Microfilm.

and

2000 titles published in 19th-century Russia from the Helsinki University Library (7000 microfiche) and selected publications of Russian symbolism and futurism (91 microfiche) in Alex Microforms (downstairs, beyond the cafe.)

Search "russia" or "ussr" in the Alexander Library Microforms database for more information on these collections.

Letopis' zhurnal/nykh statei

Indiana University Libraries have digitized the contents for the index of Soviet periodicals, Letopis' zhurnal'nykh statei, for the years 1956-75.  The search interface enables you to type in Russian Cyrillic characters if you have Russian keyboard emulation on your computer, entering the letters one by one with the keyboard displayed on the search page, or using the year and subject filters that are provided.  You can then use citations to submit article requests via RUL.

Russian Collections Near Rutgers

These libraries have outstanding print, microform, manuscript, and database collections for Russian literature and history.  Use the research guides linked below for information about their holdings as well as additional internet links.  Your Rutgers ID will enable you to enter and use the library on site, including its databases (but you cannot get online access).  Circulating materials from Penn are available via EZ-Borrow.

Columbia University Libraries

NYU Bobst Library

Princeton University Library

 

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.