Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Useful Databases to Find Articles:
The following are useful databases which can help you identify articles relevant to your topic.
Where Rutgers has online access to relevant citations, you will be able to click and link directly to the online article:
BIOSIS Previews indexes international journals, published meetings, symposia, workshops, patents, book and software reviews. It is multidisciplinary covering, e.g.,Zoology, Behavior and Ecology, Biotechnology, Medicine, Microbiology, Molecular Biology, Physiology, and Plant Sciences.
MEDLINE (via OVID)
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, as well as coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. PsycINFO includes indexing for more than 2000 journals, 98% of which are peer-reviewed. Online access to Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms is included.
PubMed is a database of more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed’s primary focus is biomedicine and health sciences, but it also includes related fields such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
Chemical Abstracts comprehensive chemical database. Available only to current Rutgers faculty, staff and students for RU related research.
Web of Science
Web of Science is an enhanced web version of Thomson/ISI's citation indexes, e.g., Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Web of Science can be used to demonstrate the impact of particular articles and authors through the "Cited Reference Search" and allows subject searching through both "quick" and "advanced" searches. Our Web of Science subscription covers 1984 to the present.
For other useful databases see:
LibGuides for Engineering (Biomedical Engineering), Medicine, Business,