Featured Resource
The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies by ISBN: 0231139888Publication Date: 2007-01-30An index to titles, first, and last lines on 2424 pages. For over a hundred years, The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies has been the preeminent index for answers to questions about the world of poetry, identifying the author of a poem or the anthologies in which it can be found when only a title, first line, or last line is known.
From the Web
- Collections from the Poetry FoundationExplore collections curated by top experts on areas such as Poems of Muslim Faith and Islamic Culture, Native American Poetry and Culture, US Latinx Voices in Poetry, Asian American Voices in Poetry.
- Poetry Collections from The New YorkerDiverse collections since 2007 featuring American and international poets (in translation).
Find Poems by First Lines
Another way to read random poems (and discover a few new favorite authors) is browse poems by their first lines.
- Poems by First LineAn alphabetical list of poems by their first lines from EnglishVerse.com.
- Index by First LinesFrom Poets' Corner, a collection of over 7,300 works by about 800 poets.
Poetry and Science
Sample thematic collections from the Poetry Foundation
What is an Anthology?
An anthology is a collection of selected literary pieces or passages or works of art or music (Merriam-Webster Dictionary). Its content might have been selected from titles by diverse authors, in the same literary form, of the same period, or on the same subject. An anthology can be a great way to survey poetry on a particular topic, from a particular place and time, or in a particular style––and perhaps to discover your new favorite poet!
How to Find Anthologies
Rutgers University Libraries offer a wide variety of collections.
- Type "anthology" into the search box in QuickSearch.
- Use filter on the left: Available online for ebooks
- Under Resource Types, choose Books
- Under Subject, find the area you are interested in, such as
- Poetry; English Poetry; Anthologies
- Mix and match your filters for best results
TIP: Look at the Active filters of this search for an example.
Sample Anthologies
Anthologies come in a wide variety of forms, length, and quality. Why should you give them a try? If you are a fan of poetry, you already know that you can pick and choose from a collection of poems to your heart's desire without the pressure of having to read them all. A poetry anthology also gives a great chance not only to re-read your favorite poems, but to discover new poets, too.
The American Voice Anthology of Poetry by ISBN: 0813120977Publication Date: 1998-09-17Writings from its pages have been regularly reprinted in prize annuals such as The Pushcart Prize, Best American Poetry, and Best American Essays. This fifteenth anniversary anthology collects eighty poems from some of the most original and daring writers of our time.
American Poetry Now by ISBN: 0822943107Publication Date: 2007-03-08A comprehensive collection of the best work from the renowned Pitt Poetry Series. Since its inception in 1967, the series has been a vehicle for America's finest contemporary poets.
After Every War: Twentieth-Century Women Poets by ISBN: 0691127794Publication Date: 2013After Every War is a book of translations of women poets living in Europe in the decades before and after World War II. Several of the writers are Jewish and, therefore, also witnesses and participants in one of the darkest occasions of human cruelty, the Holocaust. Their poems, as well as those of the other writers, provide a unique biography of the time--but with a difference.
Poets on Place by ISBN: 0874215978Publication Date: 2005-02-25Out to see America and satisfy his travel bug, W. T. Pfefferle resigned from his position as director of the writing program at Johns Hopkins University and hit the road to interview sixty-two poets about the significance of place in their work. The lively conversations that resulted may surprise with the potential meanings of a seemingly simple concept. This gathering of voices and ideas is illustrated with photo and word portraits from the road and represented with suitable poems.
The Routledge Anthology of Cross-Gendered Verse by ISBN: 0415112907Publication Date: 1996-02-05Both male and female poets cross the gender line: men assume a female voice and women a male voice. The Routledge Anthology of Cross-Gendered Verse is a fascinating collection of such poems, beginning in the age of Chaucer and working its way through to the present day. Together these poems offer a unique collection of masks, personae and voices, rife with issues of class, gender and race.
Eighteenth-Century Poetry by ISBN: 111882475XPublication Date: 2014-12-03Currently the definitive text in the field and now available in an expanded third edition, Eighteenth-Century Poetry presents the rich diversity of English poetry from 1700-1800 in authoritative texts and with full scholarly annotation.
The New Anthology of American Poetry: Vol. III: Postmodernisms 1950-Present by ISBN: 1283684063Publication Date: 2012-01-01Steven Gould Axelrod, Camille Roman, and Thomas Travisano continue the standard of excellence set in Volumes I and II of this extraordinary anthology. Volume III provides the most compelling and wide-ranging selection available of American poetry from 1950 to the present. Its contents are just as diverse and multifaceted as America itself and invite readers to explore the world of poetry in the larger historical context of American culture.
Featured Anthologies
The Oxford Anthology of English Poetry by ISBN: 0192827987Publication Date: 1991-01-17This two-volume anthology celebrates four centuries of verse in English, from the Elizabethan era to the present day.
¡Manteca! by ISBN: 1558858423Publication Date: 2017-04-30Containing the work of more than 40 poets--equally divided between men and women--who self-identify as Afro-Latino, ¡Manteca! is the first poetry anthology to highlight writings by Latinos of African descent. The themes covered are as diverse as the authors themselves. Many pieces rail against a system that institutionalizes poverty and racism.
Poets Translate Poets by ISBN: 0815610270Publication Date: 2013-11-19In reviewing the Hudson Review's history of publishing poetry in translation since 1948, the editors have compiled a collection that highlights the work of major American and English poets, most of whom are prominent in their own right, who, for the last half-century, have made accessible through their translations the work of their international colleagues.
