Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Quickly equips readers with the strategies to understand and deepen their engagement with individual poems. Provides the student with all the tools necessary for the study of poetry.
The Art of Poetry How to Read a Poem by
Publication Date: 2013-04-09
A uniquely comprehensive, step-by-step introduction to poetic form, The Art of Poetry moves progressively from smaller units such as the word, line, and image, to larger features such as verse forms and voice.
Start with QuickSearch on the Rutgers University Libraries home page
- Enter your search term(s), you will get a list of results.
- Use the left panel to narrow down to eBook.
- Under ‘Resource Types” select Book.
- Under “Limit to” select Available Online.
- Select any title from the results list to view the complete details, including the link for online access.
See more tips on how to find an electronic book, including advanced database options.
Browse the latest eBooks acquired by the library.
African Writers Series
A collection of major works in modern African Literature. It includes more than 250 full-text volumes of fiction, poetry, drama, and non-fiction prose.
Black Women Writers
A collection of writings by women of African nations and the African Diaspora. The collection consists of over 100,000 pages of fiction, poetry, and essays.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Includes biographies for more than 160,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth biographies of 2,000 of the most-studied authors.
HathiTrust Digital Library
The HathiTrust Digital Library includes millions of books, government publications, dissertations, journals, and other published and unpublished materials digitized from collections in libraries around the world
A platform for journals, books, and primary sources in a wide variety of subject areas in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Literature Online (LION)
A collection of over 350,000 works of English-language literature, including 343,000 works of poetry, 5000 dramatic works, and 2000 prose works.
Literary Journals and Magazines
Published by the Poetry Foundation. Available from the Libraries online since 1912, except the most recent 4 years.
NewPages Guide to Literary Magazines
A reliable, up-to-date listing of some of the best online, print, and electronic literary journals covering a wide variety of genres, themes, and styles. Filter by poetry.
Literary Magazine Rankings for Poetry
Poetry magazines ranked by Clifford Garstang, editor of Prime Number Magazine.
Literatures in English
The most comprehensive guide of the diverse literature resources in various Rutgers University Libraries. Includes proprietary databases available only to current Rutgers faculty, students, and staff via remote access, but also to a selection of digital resources freely available on the web.
Literatures in English @ Camden
This research guide is intended to help literature students at the Camden campus of Rutgers University find sources that are appropriate for their assignments.