This is the "Home" page of the "Public Affairs, Public Service, and Public Administration" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Public Affairs, Public Service, and Public Administration   Tags: public-administration, public_affairs, public_service, spaa  

This guide includes resources for studying public affairs, public service, and public administration.
Last Updated: Jul 25, 2014 URL: http://libguides.rutgers.edu/pubadmin Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Access to Library Resources

  • Register Your Bar Code
    Your library bar code is located on the back of your Rutgers ID card. You need it to borrow materials.
  • Connect from Off-Campus
    Instructions for connecting to library resources with your Net ID from off-campus.
  • Request an Article
    This brief video from Mei Ling Lo and Jill Nathanson at the Rutgers Library of Science and Medicine tells how to request an article that you cannot obtain electronically or at your local Rutgers library.
  • How Do I...?
    Answers to your most frequently asked questions about using our library system.
  • Electronic Journals List
    List of electronic journals available from the Rutgers University Libraries. If you do not find the title you want, search the IRIS catalog.
  • Learning Tools
    For more help using Rutgers library resources, including tutorials, citation managers, and tips on avoiding plagiarism, visit our Learning Tools pages or call the Dana Library reference desk at 973-353-5901.
  • Main Rutgers University Libraries Page
    Home page for the Rutgers University Libraries, a major research library.
 

Other PA Guides

Public Health by Yingting Zhang

(Search this guide)
Guide to information sources for the research paper in this course.
Pages containing your search term:
  • Find Articles - Best choices for finding articles about public affairs and administration
by Roberta Tipton   |   Last Updated Sep 26, 2013   |   Tags: public-administration, public_affairs, public_service
Pages containing your search term:
by Natalie Borisovets   |   Last Updated Oct 9, 2013   |   Tags: newark_political_science, newark_public_administration
Pages containing your search term:
by Julie Moscinski   |   Last Updated Sep 24, 2013   |   Tags: immigration, labor_studies, nb_labor, nb_public_administration, public_policy
(Search this guide)
An overview and collection map for the government publications collections in Alexander Library.
Pages containing your search term:
by Stephanie Bartz, Mary Fetzer   |   Last Updated Jul 15, 2013   |   Tags: government, new_jersey, united_nations
Pages containing your search term:
by Katie Anderson   |   Last Updated Jul 4, 2012   |   Tags: camden_criminal_justice
Pages containing your search term:
by Eileen Stec   |   Last Updated Sep 26, 2013   |   Tags: nb_communication

(Search this guide)
This guide is designed to help you find resources to complete your papers for Professor Crowley. Fall, 2013
Pages containing your search term:
by Karen Hartman   |   Last Updated Oct 23, 2013   |   Tags: nb_public_administration
Pages containing your search term:

Pages containing your search term:
by Stephanie Bartz   |   Last Updated Apr 18, 2012   |   Tags: government, libraries
(Search this guide)
About the government depository collection and library services at the Dana Library.
Pages containing your search term:
by Wen-Hua Ren   |   Last Updated Oct 12, 2012   |   Tags: government
(Search this guide)
Guide to information resources for students in Public Service who are doing an internship.
Pages containing your search term:
by Roberta Tipton   |   Last Updated Dec 4, 2013   |   Tags: public-administration, public_service

Pages containing your search term:
by Natalie Borisovets   |   Last Updated Jan 17, 2012   |   Tags: community_development, housing, public_policy, urban_affairs
(Search this guide)
A research guide for graduate students in SMLR course 38:578:520 and for anyone doing research in benefits, health care plans, and other employment-related social insurance plans.
Pages containing your search term:
by Julie Moscinski   |   Last Updated Oct 10, 2013   |   Tags: benefits, health_care, insurance, nb_labor, pensions, social_insurance

 

About This Guide

This research guide provides assistance in doing research in public administration and related areas. Here you'll find information on electronic and print resources available to users of the Rutgers University Libraries. This guide includes links to both publicly-available Internet resources and to electronic resources available only to members of the Rutgers community.

 

If you are a graduate student, you might also be interested in our Research Tips for Graduate Students page from the Newark Dana Library.

 

Best regards,

 

Roberta Tipton

SPAA Librarian, Newark

 

Karen Hartman

Planning & Public Policy Librarian, New Brunswick

 

Julie Still

Public Administration Librarian, Camden

 


 

Definitions

Public administration is both an academic discipline and a profession. "The process of public administration consists of the actions involved in effecting the intent or desire of a government." (Waldo, "Public Administration," International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, 1968, Vol. 13, p. 145). Public administration can be defined as "the formal procedural and organizational arrangements under which public employees serve a government, by implementing and advising on policy, and managing resources."(Johnston, "Public Administration: Organizational Aspects," 2001, International Organization of Social & Behavioral Sciences pp. 12507-12508).

 

Where Is the Information?

Materials related to public administration can be found at the Dana Library in Newark, which houses the research collections in public administration and management, the Alexander Library in New Brunswick, which houses the major public policy and political science collections, and the Robeson Library in Camden.

 

Additional law and criminal justice materials can be found in the Newark and Camden law libraries.

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Roberta Tipton
Contact Info
Roberta L. Tipton
Business Librarian
Public Administration Librarian
Information Literacy Coordinator
The John Cotton Dana Library
Rutgers-Newark
973-353-5910
tipton@rutgers.edu
Send Email

Social Sciences Librarian

Profile Image
Karen Hartman
Contact Info
Alexander Library
169 College Avenue
New Brunswick, New Jersey
08901
848-932-6104
khartman@rci.rutgers.edu
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Julie Still
Contact Info
Paul Robeson Library
Rutgers University, Camden

856 225-2846
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip