This is the "Resources" page of the "Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music  

This is a basic guide to music resources at Rutgers.
Last Updated: Apr 14, 2014 URL: http://libguides.rutgers.edu/music Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

  • Oxford Music Online
    OMO contains Grove Music Online, the most comprehensive English-language encyclopedia of music, the Encyclopedia of Popular Music Online, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Oxford Companion to Music. Contains biographies and works lists for composers, as well as subject entries on topics related to music, performance, history, instruments, extensive bibliographies, and more.
  • Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
    The electronic version of the 10-volume print work, this encyclopedia offer information on the music of cultures from all over the world, arranged geographically.
  • Die Musik in Geschicthe und Gegenwart (MGG)
    Print only. Extensive German-language encyclopedia of music.
  • Orchestral Music Online
    Orchestral Music Online is an online iteration of David Daniels' Orchestral Music: A Handbook, 4th edition, and contains records of over 6700 works from the orchestral repertoire, by more than 900 composers. Users can search for works by author, title, duration, and instrumentation, or key.
  • IPA Source
    IPA Source is a large collection of IPA (International Phonetic Alphabet) transcriptions and literal translations of art songs and arias originally in Latin, French, Italian, German, and Spanish.

Music Indexes

  • RILM: Abstracts of Music Literature
    Search RILM for books, articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reviews related to music scholarship. Covers 1967-present.
  • Music Index Online
    Search Music Index for scholarly and popular music articles. Music Index is a good place to start to find album reviews and articles from popular music magazines like Rolling Stone.
  • JSTOR
    JSTOR is an archive of full-text journals from many different subjects, with limited titles for music. Most all its full text may be searched using the indexes annotated above.
  • RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals  
      
    An international bibliography of 19th- and early 20th-century music periodicals. Includes the RIPM Online Archive (ROA), a new project working to provide digital images of articles cited.
  • RISM: International Inventory of Musical Sources after 1600
    Annotated index and guide to music manuscripts produced after 1600. The manuscripts are found in over 740 libraries and archives in more than 30 countries worldwide. The database, Series A/II of Répertoire International des Sources Musicales (RISM), is linked to three other databases providing additional information to specific content: Composer, Library Sigla and Bibliographic Citations. It contains over 740,000 searchable music incipits which can be viewed as musical scores.

Audio databases

  • Alexander Street Press
    Includes audio and video of Classical and World music. (Also known as Opera in Video.)
  • Naxos Music Library
    On-line library of more than 75,000 tracks of music from the catalog of Naxos, a leading classical music label, and selected additional labels.
  • Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM)
    American music recordings by New World Records, ranging from folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and beyond. DRAM also includes music from other contributing sources, including the CRI, Albany, innova, Cedille, XI, Pogus, Deep Listening and Mutable Music labels.
  • Smithsonian Global Sound
    Provides over 2900 online audio recordings (over 42,000 tracks) of American folk, blues, bluegrass, jazz, spoken word, and world music.

Online scores

  • Classical Scores Library
    Rutgers-affiliated users only. Classical Scores Library contains thousands of scores of both public domain and in-copyright works.
  • International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)
    Free to any user. The IMSLP Petrucci Music Library contains scores from thousands of composers. These are user-submitted scans of works in the public domain, meaning that they can be scanned and disseminated, legally, for anyone to download and print.
 

Music and Performing Arts Librarian

Jonathan Sauceda is the Music and Performing Arts Librarian for Rutgers University and is responsible for collection development, public service and fostering collaboration between the libraries and the university community. Sauceda previously taught music history courses at the University of North Texas to music majors and non-majors as well as worked in the music library, where he digitized special collections, performed reference work, created metadata and cataloged.

Sauceda served as a coeditor of Monteverdi’s Vespers of 1610 published by Bärenreiter. His article in the journal Popular Music and Society offers a nuanced interpretation of the narcocorrido, a Mexican popular song genre with references, either tacit or explicit, to drugs or drug smuggling.He has published work on the important place of Latin Americans in the history of rock and roll for ABC-CLIO as well as on Liszt’s reception of Schubert’s Schwanengesang cycle for Harmonia. In his dissertation Sauceda studies the literary currents that inform Felipe Boero’s opera, El matrero, which premiered in Buenos Aires in 1929.

Don't hesitate to email or call if you have questions regarding research in music.

Phone: 848-932-9023   

Email: jonathan.sauceda@rutgers.edu

Address: Performing Arts Library | 8 Chapel Road | New Brunswick, NJ

Tip

If we don't have the article or book you need here at Rutgers don't give up! Request virtually any resource from libraries around the country and around the world with Interlibrary loan.

 

Other resources in the building

The music collections are on the middle floor of Douglass Library.  Recordings are held nearby in the Media Center

Douglass Library also houses the Fordham Multimedia Resource Laboratory, where Rutgers-affiliated patrons may use multimedia software including Finale, Sibelius, GarageBand, and other creative software tools. The Fordham Commons has the same multimedia software, as well as a makerspace with two 3D printers and a 3D scanner.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip