Clinical Assessment and Diagnosis (19:910:507)
Resources to support learning and writing about major forms of emotional distress commonly encountered in social work practice.
Diagnosis and Differential Diagnosis
On this page: books, videos, and podcasts that present clinical perspectives on identifying mental health concerns.
Recommended Books: Assessment and Diagnosis
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by ISBN: 9780890425756Publication Date: 2022-03-18
DSM-5® Handbook of Differential Diagnosis by Publication Date: 2013
DSM-5® Clinical Cases by Publication Date: 2013
Gabbard's Treatments of Psychiatric Disorders by Publication Date: 2014
Clinical Assessment and Diagnosis in Social Work Practice by Publication Date: 2016
Critical Thinking in Clinical Assessment and Diagnosis by Publication Date: 2016
Decision Cases for Advanced Social Work Practice by Publication Date: 2013
Video Resources
Featured Videos:
- Diagnosing Mental Disorders: DSM-5 and ICD-10 (Introduction, featured above) In this program, interviews with two healthcare and educational professionals introduce DSM-5 and the ICD-10 as they are used in real-world situations, along with a brief history of mental health diagnostic criteria.
- Diagnosing Mental Disorders: DSM-5 and ICD-10 (Series) This video collection examines how mental disorders are portrayed in DSM-5 and the ICD-10 with various characteristics, diagnoses, co-morbidities, and differential diagnoses acted-out in scenarios with reference to the diagnostic numbering scheme of the ICD-10.
Video Collections (Rutgers Restricted):
- Symptom Media Symptom Media is an online mental health education and training film library that contains over 300 mental health simulations including DSM 5 and ICD guided films and assessment tools. This behavioral health library provides visual guideposts to help students and practitioners better understand what a particular mental health diagnosis looks like and provides points of reference for cross comparisons and differentiation between diagnoses. Videos range in length from 30 seconds to 15 minutes and closed captioned is available. Text for each video is also included. The Training Library tab lists all the videos and the Members Content tab groups the videos by category.
- Academic Video Online: Premium (AVON) Academic Video Online: Premium (AVON) is a collection of over 60,000 streaming videos in a wide variety of academic areas, including anthropology, art & design, business, criminal justice, diversity studies, education, gender & sexuality, health sciences, history, literature & language, music & performing arts, psychology & counseling, science & engineering, social sciences, and more. The collection includes videos from over 1,500 leading distributors, producers, and filmmakers, such as 60 Minutes /CBS, PBS, BBC, NBC, Intelecom, Insight Media, Microtraining, Filmakers Library, Envision, Inc., Stanley Milgram, Dallas Telecourses, and Davidson Films. A searchable transcript accompanies each video. Index terms are assigned to each video to aid in searching. The Alexander Street video platform offers the ability to create playlists, create video clips, permalink to videos, and embed videos in course management systems.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video, Volumes I and II Counseling and Therapy in Video provides a rich online collection of video for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Videos are presented from multiple perspectives and include counseling sessions, consultations, interviews, demonstrations, and lectures. A searchable transcript accompanies each video. Index terms are assigned to each video to aid in searching. The Alexander Street video platform offers the ability to create playlists, create video clips, permalink to videos, and embed videos in course management systems.
Podcasts
- The Medical Mind Podcast
A podcast about innovation in mental health care from the APA Division of Education. APA Administration host Ann Thomas interviews APA members and other healthcare professionals about new initiatives in psychiatry. - Psychiatric Services: From Pages to Practice
Psychiatric Services Editor Lisa Dixon, M.D., M.P.H., and Podcast Editor and co-host Josh Berezin, M.D., M.S., discuss key aspects of research recently published by Psychiatric Services. Topics include community-based treatment programs, collaborative care, evidence-based treatment and service delivery, criminal and social justice, policy analysis, and more.
*All descriptions adapted from their respective homepages.