Senior Seminar in Childhood Studies: Children and Play
This guide supports Dr. Daniel Cook's section of Senior Seminar in Childhood Studies in Spring 2019.
Childhood Studies Librarian
Samantha Kannegiser
Contact:
Samantha Kannegiser
Student Success Librarian
Paul Robeson Library, Rutgers-Camden
300 N. 4th St.
Camden, NJ 08201
Student Success Librarian
Paul Robeson Library, Rutgers-Camden
300 N. 4th St.
Camden, NJ 08201
856.225.2832
Website
Why Reference Sources?
Using reference sources, like encyclopedias, at the beginning of your research is a helpful way to read a quick introduction or overview of a topic. Information is clear, concise, and factual. These sources can clarify new concepts and terms and introduce you to related ideas.
Bibliographies
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Childhood Studies: Rutgers-restricted resource which is international and cross-cultural in scope, transcending narrow geographical confines and analyzing modern and historical childhoods both locally and globally.
Encyclopedias and Other Reference Books
-
Young Children's Play
by
Young Children's Play: Development, Disabilities, and Diversity is an accessible, comprehensive introduction to play and development from birth to age 8 years that introduces readers to various play types and strategies and helps them determine when intervention might be needed. Skillfully addressing both typically developing children and those with special needs in a single volume, this book covers dramatic play, blocks, games, motor play, artistic play, and non-traditional play forms, such as humor, rough and tumble play, and more. Designed to support contemporary classrooms, this text deliberately interweaves practical strategies for understanding and supporting the play of children with specific disabilities (e.g. autism, Down syndrome, or physically challenging conditions) and those of diverse cultural backgrounds into every chapter. In sections divided by age group, Trawick-Smith explores strategies for engaging children with specific special needs, multicultural backgrounds, and incorporating adult-child play and play intervention. Emphasizing diversity in play behaviors, each chapter includes vignettes featuring children's play and teacher interactions in classrooms to illustrate core concepts in action. Filled with research-based applications for professional practice, this text is an essential resource for students of early childhood and special education, as well as teachers and coaches supporting early grades or inclusive classrooms.
ISBN: 0429513569Publication Date: 2019-08-16 -
The SAGE Handbook of Global Childhoods
by
This Handbook explores the multidisciplinary field of childhood studies through a uniquely global lens. It focuses on enquiries and investigations into the everyday lives of young children in the age range of birth to 8 years of age, giving space to their voices and involving interrogations about the various aspect of their lives. This Handbook engages with the interdisciplinary field of childhood studies, education, cultural studies, ethnography, and philosophy, with contributions from scholars from across the globe who have focused their work on the complexities of childhoods in contemporary times. By considering a range of epistemologies, ontologies and perspectives to present the contemporary and systematic research on the topic from a wide range of academics and authors in the field, this Handbook provides a significant contribution to the international dialogue of Global Childhoods. Part 1: Global Childhoods; Part 2: Researching Global Childhoods; Part 3: Contemporary Childhoods; Part 4: Pedagogies and Practice; and Part 5: Creating Communities for Global Children.
ISBN: 9781529762105Publication Date: 2021 -
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society
by
Economics is the nexus and engine that runs society, affecting societal well-being, raising standards of living when economies prosper or lowering citizens through class structures when economies perform poorly. Our society only has to witness the booms and busts of the past decade to see how economics profoundly affects the cores of societies around the world. From a household budget to international trade, economics ranges from the micro- to the macro-level. It relates to a breadth of social science disciplines that help describe the content of the proposed encyclopedia, which will explicitly approach economics through varied disciplinary lenses. Although there are encyclopedias of covering economics (especially classic economic theory and history), the SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics and Society emphasizes the contemporary world, contemporary issues, and society. Features: 4 volumes with approximately 800 signed articles ranging from 1,000 to 5,000 words each are presented in a choice of print or electronic editions Organized A-to-Z with a thematic Reader′s Guide in the front matter groups related entries Articles conclude with References & Future Readings to guide students to the next step on their research journeys Cross-references between and among articles combine with a thorough Index and the Reader′s Guide to enhance search-and-browse in the electronic version Pedagogical elements include a Chronology of Economics and Society, Resource Guide, and Glossary This academic, multi-author reference work will serve as a general, non-technical resource for students and researchers within social science programs who seek to better understand economics through a contemporary lens.
ISBN: 9781452226439Publication Date: 2016-01-06
