Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Senior Seminar in Childhood Studies: Children and Play: Find Articles

This guide supports Dr. Daniel Cook's section of Senior Seminar in Childhood Studies in Spring 2019.

Accessing the Article

We subscribe to thousands of journals, but not to all of the journals you may find cited in our electronic databases. If you find an article you want to read and the full text is not available via PDF or HTML links, try the following:  

1. Select the button. Select the link to full-text

2. If you do not see a link to full text, select “Search the library’s catalog by title (or ISSN) link” which will take you to the catalog record for the journal title (if available). Check if the article is available online in the Electronic Access section.The record also indicates whether the library system owns the periodical in paper or in other formats.  

3If Rutgers University Libraries has the article, but not electronically, you can request a free, electronic copy (PDF) by clicking on the Article Delivery button in the record.

4. If RUL does not have the article at all, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.  Requested articles are delivered electronically as PDF files. The turnaround time is generally 1-3 days. 

Library Databases

Multi-Disciplinary

  • Academic Search Premier: Rutgers-restricted database covering almost every area of academic study.
  • JSTORRutgers-restricted access to over 2,000 academic journals covering many areas of study. 
  • Google Scholar: Broad search but lacks options for narrowing. Search Google Scholar via the RUL link to access any restricted content. 

Anthropology & Sociology 

  • AnthroSourceRutgers-restricted access to all of the American Anthropological Association journals.
  • ProQuest SociologyRutgers-restricted database covering topics related to sociology, social work, and related social sciences.
  • ​​​Family & Society Studies WorldwideRutgers-restricted database with international coverage of family therapy, cross-cultural issues, minority groups, intermarriage, social policy, parenting, family relationships, foster care, and adoption.

Psychology & Health

  • PsycInfoRutgers-restricted database providing abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. 
  • MedlineRutgers-restricted database providing bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature.

History

  • America: History & LifeRutgers-restricted database which covers the United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.

Education

  • ERICRutgers-restricted database covering topics related to education

Open Online Resources

These websites (social media, magazines, blogs, and organizations) are starting points for exploring possible research areas. 

Twitter & Instagram: Some hashtags are regularly used, such as #letthembekids which document children at play or encouraging children to play. 

ToyBook: Leading toy catalog/magazine

ToyInsider: Review magazine for toys

Psychology Today: Parenting: Articles related to parenting. You can also search with keywords. 

Free Range Kids: Website from Lenore Skenazy, 

LetGrow: Non-profit organization advocating for free-range parenting, co-founded by Lenore Skenazy. 

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.