Research Guides: Special Collections and University Archives: Photographs and Prints: Photograph Collections and Subcollections

Photograph Collections and Subcollections

Several bodies of photographs with a common creator are housed as separate collections and, in addition, some significant photographic holdings are held as integral parts of larger manuscript collections. For a more complete review of the repository's photographic collections, consult the PACSCL photograph directory.

Single-Creator Collections

William F. Augustine Photograph Collection
New Jersey images from the 1920s to the 1970s, focusing on southern New Jersey.
Thurlow C. Haunton Jr. New Jersey Railroads Photograph Collection
Primarily images of short-line and industrial railroads from the 1930s to 2004, including collected images.
Neal Ranauro Photograph Collection
Images of Manville, N.J., especially from the late 1940s to the 1960s.
Isaac S. Van Derveer Photograph Collection
Primarily images of New Brunswick, N.J., from the 1890s to the 1940s.
Julius Lazarus Photographic Archives and Collection
Political left in the United States and Europe in the first fourteen years after World War II.
Early homes of Burlington County, New Jersey : photograph albums, 1932-[1939]
Two albums containing a total of 110 mounted photographs. The images depict representative houses and an occasional outbuilding built before 1800 in northern Burlington County.
Collection of letters and photographs of and by Fred B. Wright, writing from Japan, China, and Manchuria while traveling with his father, a noted geologist and Darwinist
21 photographs including 6 portraits of George Frederick Wright, an early photograph of Baku, capital of Azerbaijan, and photographs possibly taken by Fred B. Wright during his travels in Azerbaijan, Syria, Italy, and Greenland.
Helen-Chantal Pike Collection on Asbury Park, New Jersey
Photos and slides pertaining to Asbury Park, N.J.
Historical Materials
Photos of historic houses, barns, churches, and other scenes in the Millstone Valley area of Somerset County, N.J.

For each of these collections, a checklist or finding aid is available at the New Jersey Room reference desk.

Photographs within Manuscript Collections

Paul A. Schack Collection
Images of South River, N.J.
Paul Foster Theatrical Papers
Images of off-off-Broadway and productions of Foster's plays.
Consumers' Research, Inc. Records
Twentieth century consumer products.
International Union of Electrical, Radio and Machine Workers
Activities within the union at all levels.
Roebling Collection
Primarily images of family members.
Mary G. Roebling Papers
Photographs primarily of Mary Roebling attending various functions, and of her friends and family.
Modern School Collection
Portraits of the Ferms and views of the Modern School children involved in various activities (1880 to 1965).
Heritage Quilt Project of New Jersey Records
Approximately 4,800 unique photographs of quilts consisting of images of entire quilts and quilt details.
Bildner family Kings Super Markets Collection
Images of Affiliates, Awards, Community Involvement, Events and Store Openings, Marketing Promotions, Meetings, People, Recreation, and Store Displays.
National Maritime Union of America Records
Photograph subjects include U.S. Congressional hearings, union functions and officials, strikes, ships, ship conditions, crews, a post-war wage campaign and seafaring women.
Lenox, Incorporated, Records
Operations of Lenox, Incorporated, including products and their creation and sale, and employee activities.
Ora Lerman Papers
Photographs, negatives, and slides documenting Lerman's family and friends, activities, travels, and artistic interests.
Suellen Glashausser Papers
Images of installations and individual works by Glashausser, as well as of the artist and her immediate family.

University Archives

Rutgers University Photograph Collection
The Rutgers Photograph Collection represents the photographic documentation of Rutgers University. It is organized into the following categories: Academic and Administrative Functions, Athletics, Art, Buildings and Grounds, etc.
Rutgers University Photograph Collection - Cook College
Rutgers University Photograph Collection - Douglass College
Rutgers University Photograph Collection - Photographs from The Scarlet Letter Yearbook

Photographs within Political Papers

Harrison A. Williams, Jr. Papers
Pictures taken during the length of HAW's congressional career as well as many photos from his personal life.
Brendan T. Byrne Papers
Photographs of Byrne engaged in work-related activities, functions typical to public figures, and recreational activities.
Frank R. Lautenberg Papers
Negatives, prints, and slides primarily received or created by Lautenberg’s office as part of his Senatorial and political activities.
Clifford P. Case Papers
Photographs of all facets of Case's career as a member of the U.S. House of Representatives and U.S. Senate.
Shirley Chisholm Papers
Photographs primarily of Chisholm attending various functions, as well as Chisholm’s family and friends.
Tracy S. Voorhees Papers
Photograph albums with personal and professional images.