Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Special Collections and University Archives: Literature and the Arts: Rare Books and Book Arts

A guide to materials held by Rutgers Special Collections and University Archives on the topics of literature and the arts.

Overview

To read about the strengths of the collection, read a detailed introduction.

Chapbook Collections

Holdings also include two collections of Chapbooks: one, a collection of children's "chapbooks" (mostly 19th century American and English children's books issued in paper wrappers), and the other a collection of chapbooks, also largely English and American, dating from the late 18th through the mid 19th centuries.

John DePol Collection of American Wood Engraving

The John DePol Collection of American Wood Engraving contains archival and artifactual materials bearing on the history of wood engraving beginning in the 19th century. In addition to artists proofs, edition prints, tear sheets, correspondence, cards, and engraved wood blocks focused on the work of John DePol, the archive includes engraved wood blocks produced by Lynd Ward, including those for Vertigo (1937), as well as work by the artist and writer Winifred Milius Lubell, and late 19th-century woodblocks, engraving tools, and ephemera collected by George Howes Whittle.

New Jersey Book Arts Archive

The New Jersey Book Arts Archive documents the history of the annual New Jersey Book Arts Symposium and the related activities in the field of New Jersey Book Arts.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.