Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
I. Robert Kriendler Collection
The collection consists of original and typescript short stories, novels, essays, lyrics, and screenplays from a variety of authors.
John Alexander Symington Collection
Letters and literary manuscripts, chiefly of late 19th- and 20th-century English and American authors, including George Henry Borrow, Edmund Gosse, William Michael Rossetti, Clement King Shorter, Algernon Charles Swinburne, and Thomas James Wise; together with related material.
Transatlantic Review Records
Records (1957-1982) documenting all aspects of producing a respected English-language literary magazine that helped to launch the careers of a number of authors and also published fiction and poetry by established writers. Includes editors' correspondence; general correspondence with authors, illustrators, and their agents; files of poetry editor B.S. Johnson; files of the New York office, advertising and publicity files; distribution records; copyright and permission documents; financial records; printers files; contents lists and indexes; manuscripts and authors logs; issue files; manuscripts not used; artwork; and audio recordings of 1960s interviews.
Spencer Brodney Papers
Chiefly correspondence (1923-1943) relating to publication of the periodicals Events and Current History, for which Brodney was an editor; editorial records of articles, stories, and poems published in Forum, which merged into Current History (later Current History and Forum) in 1940. Correspondents include Leonard Drew (who preceded Brodney as editor of Current History), Fred A. Shannon, Preston Slosson, and Wilbur White.
Early Miniature Books Collection
The collection consists of over 90 volumes dating from 1727 through about 1925. Topics range from classic literature to cookery, and from almanacs to religious and spiritual guides. Examples include a London Almanack for 1785 and 1790, a copy of Lummis Birch Bark Poems printed on birch bark in 1882, as well as a Bible chained to a wooden stand and a Qur'an meant to be worn as a locket, both published by David Bryce.
Stilwell Press Books Collection
The collection consists of about 500 limited edition fine and private press books comprising literature, poetry, bibliographies, and works on private presses, typography, and the graphic arts, most illustrated with wood engravings, lithographs, or etchings. The collection includes imprints from the United States, United Kingdom, Germany, France, the Netherlands, Czech Republic, Italy, Switzerland, Belgium, Denmark, Sweden and Hungary. Materials mostly in English, German, French, Dutch and Czech.
Stone House Press Archive
This archive assembles material relating to books and broadsides published by the Stone House Press, along with broadsides from other presses, correspondence, and ephemera, such as advertisements, announcements, and printed keepsakes. Other prints and publications of interest to Morris Gelfand, the proprietor of the press, are included.
Commercial and Other Miniature Books Collection
The collection includes just under 150 miniature books that are in miniature format, but not published with the same focus on fine paper, creativity, type, and binding that characterize the Miniature Fine Press and Artists’ Books Collection. These books include fiction, poetry, aphorisms, and essays, as well as religious topics, Bible extracts, dictionaries, comic books, and books from the countries of Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union.
Margaret K. Spangler Knoll Scrapbook
Scrapbook containing letters and postcards received from Theodore Roethke, letters about Roethke, a typescript Roethke poem ("The reminder" with a correction in pen by the author), and letters from Vance Packard, John O'Hara, and Edna St. Vincent Millay.
New Jersey Association of Teachers of English Records
Notes, correspondence, minutes, worksheets, photos, and other papers of the committee composed of members of the association and of the Rutgers University faculty for the purpose of compiling Authors of New Jersey (1955) by Rudolf Kirk and Clara Marburg Kirk.
Records of the Women’s Project of New Jersey
The records document the work undertaken by the Women's Project of New Jersey to produce Past and Promise: Lives of New Jersey Women. The papers also provide details of the Project's other endeavors to promote understanding of the roles of women in the history of New Jersey. The records consist of documents, photographs, audiovisual materials, and an artifact.
Conference on Literature and Urban Experience (CLUE), Rutgers University Newark, April 17-19, 1980 Records
Administrative records of the Conference on Literature and Urban Experience (CLUE). The conference featured more than 50 distinguished writers and academics discussing a wide range of topics—"literature, theater, film, education, and the visual arts" focusing on the theme of urban experience. Designed as an educational experiment intended to engage a larger, public audience, CLUE intended to reach out to the public at large and involve it in a broad discussion of the modern urban experience.
Adèle de Leeuw Papers
Papers, consisting chiefly of manuscripts of writings, royalty statements, correspondence, and lecture outlines that document de Leeuw's career as a lecturer and author of books and magazine articles, chiefly for children and young adults. She wrote or co-wrote more than 70 published books, both fiction and nonfiction. The manuscripts in the collection include poetry and prose, both published and unpublished, including newspaper articles and columns. The correspondence includes letters from fans, correspondence with publishers, editors and agents and letters exchanged with others, including her sister, artist and children's author Cateau de Leeuw. Biographical information on Adèle de Leeuw is also included.
Nineteenth Century Children's Chapbook Collection
The collection consists of over 900 children's books issued mainly between 1801 and 1900 and measuring 10 centimeters or less in height. They are generally bound in paper wrappers and are of miscellaneous provenance. Most titles were published in America, although some British publications are included as well. The collection includes religious tracts, toy books, primers, catechisms, alphabets, hymns, songbooks, nursery rhymes, fairy tales, miniature books and wordless picture books, among other popular genres, and reflects the growth and development of American book illustration and wood engraving. The collection also includes some advertising formally imitative of children's books and evidently directed at children.
Rutgers University Collection of Children's Literature
Collection consisting of literary papers (corrected typescripts, galley and/or page proofs, correspondence, and other papers) of contemporary children's authors, including many who are residents of New Jersey. Persons represented include Robin F. Brancato, Patricia Lee Gauch, Barbara Girion, Larry Kellelkamp, Robert Lipsyte, John J. Loeper, Virginia Masterman-Smith, Judith St. George, St. Tamara, Dorothy Edwards Shuttlesworth, Datus Clifford Smith, Carol Snyder and Judith Viorst, among others.
Children’s Miniature Books Collection
The Children's Miniature Books Collection numbers just over 230 volumes. The publications date from 1802 through 1993, with the bulk of the collection dating from after 1940. The titles range from those intending to improve the minds of the young readers, religious texts and educational materials, to those created to entertain, children's stories and fairy tales. The books themselves range from an elegantly-boxed set of children's stories from 1866 to the more ephemeral Golden Books, Mighty Midget, and Mt. Hawley series of the late 20th century.
Earl Reed Silvers Papers
This collection consists mainly of fictional juvenile literature by Earl Reed Silvers, but also includes biographical information such as images and correspondences. The writings on Silvers include unpublished undated manuscripts, galley proofs, and published writings from newspapers and magazines.