Special Collections and University Archives: Foreign Countries and International Relations Subject Guide

The papers contain files kept by Alexander on practically every country in Europe; countries represented by the most material are France, Germany, Great Britain, Spain, and the Soviet Union. The most common topics are economics and politics, with agriculture/agrarian reform and foreign relations prominently represented among the remainder. For the Soviet Union, regions and domestic issues are also represented.
Biographical files include a diary recording impressions of the political scene in Great Britain during a 1948 trip. A file of lecture and theater programs and receipts dates from Alexander's war service in London; his autobiographical work "A Yank's Eye View of England, 1943-45" also covers this period.

Correspondence (1831-1871), diaries (1839-1849), and lists, transcripts, and translations of documents from archives in Holland, London, and Paris. Brodhead's diaries were written during his travels to and from the Netherlands (1839-1840) and his service in The Hague as secretary to the American chargé d'affaires (1839-1840); in the Netherlands, England, and France (1841-1844) while searching archives to secure copies of records; and during his service as secretary of the U.S. legation in London (1846-1849). The London diary also includes some information regarding Brodhead's activities as Herman Melville's literary agent in Great Britain. In addition, the papers include Dutch naval documents (1613-1781) that Brodhead collected, many of which pertain to the Anglo-Dutch Wars.

The papers are chiefly composed of correspondence and Loyalist publications collected by Kenner while serving in the International Brigades (1937-1938) during the Spanish Civil War. Both the correspondence and the publications are concerned with a variety of subjects that surround the war, such as current campaigns, troop movements and general information about Spain and Loyalist politics. The bulk of the correspondence consists of letters and postcards written by Kenner to his father while abroad.

Letters and literary manuscripts, chiefly of 19th- and 20th-century English and American authors, including George Henry Borrow, Edmund Gosse, William Michael Rossetti, Clement King Shorter, Algernon Charles Swinburne, and Thomas James Wise, together with related material.

Papers (1919-1966) including correspondence, materials concerning the Marshall Plan, Hungarian refugee relief, United States Information Agency, and Voorhees's activities in World War II and as undersecretary of the Army in the Truman administration; papers (1950-1968) largely relating to his position as vice chairman of Committee on the Present Danger; papers (1953-1970), including letters received, mostly relating to Gen. William J. Donovan (1883-1959). Correspondents include Lucius D. Clay, James B. Conant, Thomas E. Dewey, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Herbert Hoover, Douglas MacArthur, and other government officials.

Includes papers of dancer Beryl de Zoete (1884-1962): letters received (1912-1961), notes and drafts of writings on folk dance and the drama; typescript copies of English translations of articles in French and Italian; journals (1939-1954); address and appointment books; and printed items dealing with folk dance and other topics.

Materials related to Rowen's published works on early modern Europe and Dutch history. This includes copies of Rowen's published articles, correspondence related to his academic and published works, reviews by and from Rowen, research material, and copies of his thesis and dissertation.

Personal papers of Lane Cooper, scholar, writer, and professor of English language and literature at Cornell University (1902-1943). Includes class notebooks from his studies at Friedrich Wilhelm University in Berlin and the University of Leipzig. Travel documents and memorabilia consists of diaries; souvenirs on sightseeing throughout Europe and cruises include names and addresses of persons met, dance cards, passport; and cash books.

Over 100 letters (1941-1948) received from Undset or pertaining to her. Until the middle of 1945, most of the letters were sent from Brooklyn; thereafter, they were posted from Lillehammer, Norway. Among the topics covered in the letters are World War II, especially events in Norway and Sweden, and the deprivations and hardships of life in Norway after the war.

Copies of letters written by Frances Mallet-Prevost Gaston during European tours. The letters include descriptions of places in Italy, France, Switzerland, Germany, England and the Netherlands. They also include information about a three-month stay in Berlin (May-July 1894).

Travel journal (1883-1884) recording Lansing's observations, experiences, and thoughts on an extended European tour.

The diaries of Mary Atkinson (1876-1925) contain information on her travels to Europe. Letters from Sarah Atkinson to her family while out of the country (including England and France in 1898) are also present.

Letters written by Hobhouse to her mother when she was a teenager and young woman living in England. The letters include detailed descriptions of life at an English boarding school and at Oxford University during the 1960s. Letters from the 1970s describe her many friends, travels, and the beginnings of literary success.

Travel journal (1905) covering Wilcox's trip from New York to Italy, France, and England with her husband and daughter.

Travel journals (1950-circa 1983) of world travels, especially trips to London, England, and France.

W. Howard Sharp's second travel journal records two European trips. The 1927 trip began with a voyage from New York to Antwerp, with travel in Belgium, Germany, Switzerland, France, and England before a return voyage from Southampton to New York. In 1931, he sailed from Hoboken to Hamburg, then toured Germany, Austria, Italy, France, England, and Ireland before departing Southampton for New York.

Journal covering voyage from New York and extended stay in Europe, including France, Italy, Belgium, and England, reflecting Bergen's interest in European art and culture.

Letters (1865-1879) received by Heinrich and Augusta Hahn; certificates, letters of recommendation, and immigration and citizenship papers (1862-1874); and financial and legal papers (1899-1948) of George H. and Annie Hahn. Places represented include Germany and New Jersey.

Letters received (1901-1940), research notes and memoranda, printed articles, photos, and other papers. Includes certificates, commendations, and other official documents (1856-1883) of Jacob Klein. Places represented include Baden, Germany.

Postcards received by Kaufman. Several were written by his father, who visited Germany in 1931.

European travel journal (1957).

The collection consists of works by the artist John Ross. Scenes from Venice, both architecture and Carnival characters, are represented with 50 collagraphs. 45 images from his international travels are also in the collection, including town views and landscapes from Italy, Spain, and Eastern Europe.

Included are materials relating to performances in Europe (especially Denmark).

Menus collected by Otto A. Garson from restaurants, hotels, clubs, trains and other locations throughout the United States and Europe.

Includes some materials concerning the French Postman Affair and files documenting Spanel’s activities in the area of U.S.-French relations.