Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
William Elliot Griffis Collection
Griffis' papers document the experience of Westerners in Japan, the roots of Japanese-American relations, and the special friendship between Japan and Rutgers during the Meiji period (1868-1912). The collection includes diaries, journals, notebooks, writings, manuscripts, printed materials, photographs, family papers and scrapbooks, correspondence and ephemera. Also included are materials representing Margaret Clark Griffis' work as a teacher in Tokyo.
Griffis' diary and notebooks chronicle his teaching in Echizen (modern Fukui) and Tokyo (1870-1874). Also present are notes and source materials on his projects and interests: Japan, its history and religion; U. S.-Japanese relations; missionary work and women's education; and Korea and China.
Michi Nakao Collection
Nakao's writings and research materials on Sen Katayama, a founding member of the American and Japanese Communist parties, as well as, in Japan, a pioneer of the socialist movement, a founder of the profession of social work, a leader in the early trade union movement, and the editor of Japan's first labor newspaper.
Tracy S. Voorhees Papers
Papers (1919-1966) including correspondence and materials concerning aid to Asia and Voorhees's activities in World War II and as undersecretary of the Army in the Truman administration; papers (1953-1970), including letters received, mostly relating to Gen. William J. Donovan (1883-1959). Correspondents include Lucius D. Clay, James B. Conant, Thomas E. Dewey, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Herbert Hoover, and Douglas MacArthur. Photograph albums contain U.S. Army photographs of Vorhees’s visit to Japan (1949) and photographs of a Japanese Diet delegation visit to the United States (1950).
Walter E. Weyl Papers
The collection consists of diaries, note cards, correspondence relating to writings, and notebooks. The 1917 diary entries record Weyl's observations of China, Manchuria, Japan, and Korea. Writings include typewritten copies of articles by Weyl on topics including Japanese diplomacy. Notebooks contain outlines and notes for books on Japan.
Reba Snapp Ryder Missionary Collection
The collection details Ryder’s life and service as a missionary in Japan in the early 20th century. It primarily contains correspondence between Ryder and her parents (1911-1932). Additional materials include photographs, postcards, a diary, and reports for the Reformed Church of America (RCA). This collection documents Western experiences in early 20th century Japan, Christian missions in Asia, cultural impressions, travel experiences, and natural disasters in Japan.
Ardath W. Burks Papers
Papers of Rutgers Professor of Asian Studies Ardath W. Burks focusing on his relationship with Japan and promotion of positive relationships between individuals and institutions within Japan and the United States. The collection documents his role as a consultant of both the International House of Japan in Tokyo and Council on International Educational Exchange, his work to renew ties between Rutgers and Fukui University, and his many research and diplomatic trips to Japan.
United States Naval Expedition to Japan Records
Flag journal (1852-1854); Commodore Matthew Perry's personal narrative (1853-1854); journal (1853-1854) kept by Perry's secretary and son, Oliver Hazard Perry (1825-1870); and two other contemporary volumes concerned with the expedition, including reports by Bayard Taylor. Places represented include Japan, Okinawa, Hong Kong, and China.
Margaret Miller Davidson Clark Papers
Diary (1871-1872) of Clark's trip from her home in New York via the Panama Canal and San Francisco to join her brother in Yokohama, Japan, where she tutored Japanese children.
Deborah Remington Papers
Includes photographs of Remington's trip to Japan, which greatly influenced her artistic style, and correspondence with the Institute for International Education for her trip to Japan (1956) and one small notebook (1957), in which she wrote during her time in Japan and Southeast Asia.
Thompson Family Papers
Deeds, letters received, and accounts, chiefly of Aaron and Charity Thompson, but also of members of the Schamp, Hageman, and Craig families, including letters of Japanese interest.
Arthur Waley Papers
Drafts of published works dealing primarily with Chinese civilization, notes on Oriental languages, unpublished fictional pieces, published articles, corrected page proofs of several books, pamphlets relating to Far Eastern subjects, and letters of friends and associates.
Vincent Adams Renouf Papers
Documentation of Renouf’s life, work, and research in China. Includes correspondence relating to his position as professor of history and political economy at Imperial Peiyang University and publication of his book Outlines of General History for Eastern Students, drafts of articles on Chinese and Japanese history and culture, lecture notes, student essays, and class record used while teaching in China, notes and typescripts on world history, together with manuscripts and typewritten drafts and page proofs of his book.
Pamela Spence Richards Papers
The collection illustrates Richards’ efforts to establish international links between United States library and information sciences professionals in general, and Rutgers SCILS in particular, and scholars and specialists in the field from China, the Soviet Union, Eastern Europe, and Africa. The documentation chronicles Richards’ attempts to establish an exchange program between the United States and both China and the Soviet Union for the purpose of bringing Chinese and Soviet graduate students to the Library Studies program at Rutgers University.
Stephen S. Chang Papers
Materials documenting Chang's international food technology career. Most of this material is written in Mandarin Chinese, such as materials regarding the Taiwan University Institute of Food Science & Technology, the Advisory Committee to the Taiwan Food Industry, and the Joint Commission on Rural Reconstruction. Business trips the Changs took to Taiwan are also documented.
Harold B. Allen Educational Activities of the Near East Foundation Files
Papers related to the educational activities of the Near East Foundation, an international relief organization founded in 1915 with the purpose of providing relief to Armenians in Turkey. In the 1920s, the organization shifted its mission toward providing education and aiding development in the area. A prototype of this new mission was tried out in Macedonia under the direction of Harold B. Allen. The reports herein give evidence of the work of that program, as well as that of other of the Near East Foundation’s educational programs throughout the area. There are also included school notebooks that provide examples of the Near East Foundation’s educational work in Turkey.
Vera W. Beggs Papers
Includes a short typescript essay describing the 1935 Istanbul meeting of the International Alliance of Women for Suffrage and Equal Citizenship.
Collection of Letters and Photographs of and by Fred B. Wright, writing from Japan, China, and Manchuria
Six letters from Fred B. Wright to "Annie," from Japan, China, Russia, and Manchuria, giving details of his travels with his father.
Gerald Grob Papers
Correspondence of Rutgers history professor Gerald Grob with, or one-off letters to, U.S. government officials, including senators, congressmen, President Eisenhower, and several New Jersey governors. These underscore Grob's political activism as they relate to topics such as U.S. foreign policy in the Far East and Middle East.