Public Health

Aging, Place, and Health: A Global Perspective examines the interplay of biological, social, and environmental factors affecting the health and well-being of aging individuals, their families, and communities. With a strong interdisciplinary focus, this book provides a clear, coherent structure to address the diversity of topics in this increasingly vital field.With contributions from leading experts in the field of aging and public health, the book explores key areas in the epidemiology of aging. Each chapter addresses an important topic in aging from survival, to function, depression, and health conditions. The final chapters translate aging research into practice and policy.Aging, Place, and Health: A Global Perspective follows an ecological model, recognizing that patterns of health and well-being are due to a dynamic interplay of biological, behavioral, social, and environmental factors that play out over the life course of individuals, families, neighborhoods, and communities.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Learn to evaluate and apply statistics in medicine, medical research, and all health-related fields A  Doody's Core Title for 2020! Basic & Clinical Biostatistics provides medical students, researchers, and practitioners with the knowledge needed to develop sound judgment about data applicable to clinical care. This fifth edition has been updated throughout to deliver a comprehensive, timely introduction to biostatistics and epidemiology as applied to medicine, clinical practice, and research. Particular emphasis is on study design and interpretation of results of research.   The book features "Presenting Problems" drawn from studies published in the medical literature, end-of-chapter exercises, and a reorganization of content to reflect the way investigators ask research questions. To facilitate learning, each chapter contain a set of key concepts underscoring the important ideas discussed.   Features:   *  Key components include a chapter on survey research and expanded discussion    of logistic regression, the Cox model, and other multivariate statistical methods *  Extensive examples illustrate statistical methods and design issues *  Updated examples using R, an open source statistical software package *  Expanded coverage of data visualization, including content on visual perception    and discussion of tools such as Tableau, Qlik and MS Power BI *  Sampling and power calculations imbedded with discussion of the statistical model *  Updated content, examples, and data sets throughout  

' P]rovides a comprehensive explanation for data analysis and graphics using R language, including how R language handles classic problems in case-control, cohort studies and its use in survival analysis... The content and quality of this book is excellent. It is a great tool for understanding the use of R language for biostatistical analysis. Score: 91 - 4 Stars ' ' Bhavesh Barad, MD, East Tennessee State University Quillen College of Medicine, Doody's Reviews Since it first appeared in 1996, the open-source programming language R has become increasingly popular as an environment for statistical analysis and graphical output. In addition to being freely available, R offers several advantages for biostatistics, including strong graphics capabilities, the ability to write customized functions, and its extensibility. This is the first textbook to present classical biostatistical analysis for epidemiology and related public health sciences to students using the R language. Based on the assumption that readers have minimal familiarity with statistical concepts, the author uses a step-bystep approach to building skills. The text encompasses biostatistics from basic descriptive and quantitative statistics to survival analysis and missing data analysis in epidemiology. Illustrative examples, including real-life research problems and exercises drawn from such areas as nutrition, environmental health, and behavioral health, engage students and reinforce the understanding of R. These examples illustrate the replication of R for biostatistical calculations and graphical display of results. The text covers both essential and advanced techniques and applications in biostatistics that are relevant to epidemiology. This text is supplemented with teaching resources, including an online guide for students in solving exercises and an instructor's manual. KEY FEATURES: First overview biostatistics textbook for epidemiology and public health that uses the open-source R program Covers essential and advanced techniques and applications in biostatistics as relevant to epidemiology Features abundant examples and exercises to illustrate the application of R language for biostatistical calculations and graphical displays of results Includes online student solutions guide and instructor's manual

More children born today will survive to adulthood than at any time in history. It is now time to emphasize health and development in middle childhood and adolescence--developmental phases that are critical to health in adulthood and the next generation. Child and Adolescent Health and Development explores the benefits that accrue from sustained and targeted interventions across the first two decades of life. The volume outlines the investment case for effective, costed, and scalable interventions for low-resource settings, emphasizing the cross-sectoral role of education. This evidence base can guide policy makers in prioritizing actions to promote survival, health, cognition, and physical growth throughout childhood and adolescence.

The Third Edition of this popular text focuses on clinical-practice research methods. It is written by clinicians with experience in generating and answering researchable questions about real-world clinical practice and health care--the prevention, treatment, diagnosis, prognosis, and causes of diseases, the measurement of quality of life, and the effects of innovations in health services. The book has a problem-oriented and protocol-based approach and is written at an introductory level, emphasizing key principles and their applications. A bound-in CD-ROM contains the full text of the book to help the reader locate needed information.

This revised and updated fifth edition of the highly acclaimed "gold standard" textbook continues to provide a foundational review of health behavior change theories, research methodologies, and intervention strategies across a range of populations, age groups, and health conditions. It examines numerous, complex, and often co-occurring factors that can both positively and negatively influence people's ability to change behaviors to enhance their health including intrapersonal, interpersonal, sociocultural, environmental, systems, and policy factors, in the context of leading theoretical frameworks. Beyond understanding predictors and barriers to achieving meaningful health behavior change, the Handbook provides an updated review of the evidence base for novel and well-supported behavioral interventions and offers recommendations for future research. New content includes chapters on Sun Protection, Interventions With the Family System, and the Role of Technology in Behavior Change. Throughout the textbook, updated reviews emphasize mobile health technologies and electronic health data capture and transmission and a focus on implementation science. And the fifth edition, like the previous edition, provides learning objectives to facilitate use by course instructors in health psychology, behavioral medicine, and public health. The Handbook of Health Behavior Change, Fifth Edition, is a valuable resource for students at the graduate and advanced undergraduate level in the fields of public or population health, medicine, behavioral science, health communications, medical sociology and anthropology, preventive medicine, and health psychology. It also is a great reference for clinical investigators, behavioral and social scientists, and healthcare practitioners who grapple with the challenges of supporting individuals, families, and systems when trying to make impactful health behavior change. NEW TO THE FIFTH EDITION: Revised and updated to encompass the most current research and empirical evidence in health behavior changeIncludes new chapters on Sun Protection, Interventions With the Family System, and the Role of Technology in Behavior ChangeIncreased focus on innovations in technology in relation to health behavior change research and interventions KEY FEATURES: The most comprehensive review of behavior change interventionsProvides practical, empirically based information and tools for behavior changeFocuses on robust behavior theories, multiple contexts of health behaviors, and the role of technology in health behavior changeApplicable to a wide variety of courses including public health, behavior change, preventive medicine, and health psychologyOrganized to facilitate curriculum development and includes tools to assist course instructors, including learning objectives for each chapter

To maintain their own health and the health of their families and communities, consumers rely heavily on the health information that is available to them. This information is at the core of the partnerships that patients and their families forge with today (TM)s complex modern health systems. This information may be provided in a variety of forms " ranging from a discussion between a patient and a health care provider to a health promotion advertisement, a consent form, or one of many other forms of health communication common in our society. Yet millions of Americans cannot understand or act upon this information. To address this problem, the field of health literacy brings together research and practice from diverse fields including education, health services, and social and cultural sciences, and the many organizations whose actions can improve or impede health literacy. Health Literacy: Prescription to End Confusion examines the body of knowledge that applies to the field of health literacy, and recommends actions to promote a health literate society. By examining the extent of limited health literacy and the ways to improve it, we can improve the health of individuals and populations.

2nd ed.

"The fifth edition of Mayhall’s Hospital Epidemiology and Infection Prevention has a new streamlined focus, with new editors and contributors, a new two-color format, and a new title. Continuing the legacy of excellence established by Dr. C. Glen Mayhall, this thoroughly revised text covers all aspects of healthcare-associated infections and their prevention and remains the most comprehensive reference available in this complex field. It examines every type of healthcare-associated (nosocomial) infection and addresses every issue relating to surveillance, prevention, and control of these infections in patients and in healthcare personnel, providing unparalleled coverage for hospital epidemiologists and infectious disease specialists"-- Provided by publisher

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Understand the role of epidemiology in clinical medicine for the best patient outcomes possible For nearly a quarter of a century, Medical Epidemiology has been the go-to text for understanding the principles and concepts of epidemiology and the relationship between population-based science and efficient patient care. It delivers the most current information on patterns of disease occurrence and risk factors - all clearly linked to clinical practice through the use of Health Scenarios in every chapter. This edition of Medical Epidemiology has been completely rewritten to reflect the transformative changes in the manner in which epidemiologic methods are being utilized in today's healthcare as well as the major shifts that have occurred at the policy level. New chapters have been added on many timely topics, including global health, social determinants of health, health inequalities, comparative effectiveness, quality of care, variations in care, and implementation science. Increased information about evaluating, summarizing, and using evidence for improved patient care and outcomes gives this edition an even greater clinical focus.

This is the first text to advance beyond traditional methods of research about promoting community health by presenting a new paradigm for emerging methodologies that integrate qualitative and quantitative research methods. Written for graduate students of public health and practicing researchers alike, the book highlights new technologies and methodologies that facilitate a more fluid use of integrated methods and interdisciplinary expertise. This new paradigm stresses the effects of place--socioeconomic disadvantage, access to health care, quality of housing--as having great relevance for health outcomes. Use of these new research methods will provide greater insight into how and why contextual and community factors impact health and for developing more effective intervention programs.

Following the tradition of its predecessor, the fifth edition of Nutrition: Maintaining and Improving Health continues to offer a wide-ranging coverage of all aspects of nutrition while providing new information to this edition including: Increased coverage of experimental and observational methods used in nutrition In-depth focus on the nutritional implications of the increased adoption of vegetarian and vegan lifestyles Streamlined referencing - a short selected list of key references at the end of each chapter with URL links to free additional resources where possible Discussion of nutrition debates Critical coverage of "medicinal uses of food" including superfoods, functional foods and dietary supplements Updated bullet point summaries of key points after each major topic within each chapter The author provides an evidence-based evaluation of many key nutrition beliefs and philosophies. The book contains in-depth and critical reviews of the methods used to evaluate nutritional intakes/status and the observational and experimental used to investigate putative links between dietary factors and health outcome. It covers the role of food as a source of energy and nutrients while discussing the non-nutritional roles of food and the social and psychological factors that influence food choice. Presenting a critical discussion on the value of nutrition research linking specific foods or nutrients to specific diseases which encourages students to question the value of some current nutrition research. This is essential reading for all nutrition and dietetics students with different backgrounds who are studying nutrition as a specific discipline for the first time.

The Institute of Medicine (IOM) Roundtable on Health Literacy focuses on bringing together leaders from the federal government, foundations, health plans, associations, and private companies to address challenges facing health literacy practice and research and to identify approaches to promote health literacy in both the public and private sectors. The roundtable serves to educate the public, press, and policy makers regarding the issues of health literacy, sponsoring workshops to discuss approaches to resolve health literacy challenges. It also builds partnerships to move the field of health literacy forward by translating research findings into practical strategies for implementation. The Roundtable held a workshop March 29, 2012, to explore the field of oral health literacy. The workshop was organized by an independent planning committee in accordance with the procedures of the National Academy of Sciences. The planning group was composed of Sharon Barrett, Benard P. Dreyer, Alice M. Horowitz, Clarence Pearson, and Rima Rudd. The role of the workshop planning committee was limited to planning the workshop. Unlike a consensus committee report, a workshop summary may not contain conclusions and recommendations, except as expressed by and attributed to individual presenters and participants. Therefore, the summary has been prepared by the workshop rapporteur as a factual summary of what occurred at the workshop.

The Oxford Textbook of Global Public Health is the ultimate resource on the subject of public health and epidemiology. The sixth edition has been thoroughly revised and updated, offering a global and comprehensive perspective on wide ranging public health needs and priorities in modern healthcare.The sixth edition, available both in print and online, retains its approach of dividing the complex, dynamic subject of public health into three topics. 'The Scope of Public Health' discusses the development of the discipline, determinants of health and disease, public health policies, and law andethics. Next, the textbook focuses on 'The Methods of Public Health', including the main science behind the discipline - epidemiology. Finally, 'The Practice of Public Health', examines specific public health problems and the options for prevention and control. As well as identifying these issues bysystem or disease, there is also an awareness of the unique needs of particular population groups.New topics in this edition include: Climate change, genetic testing and epidemiology; new methods for measuring the burden of disease; life course approaches to epidemiology, behavioural economics; and physical activity, health and wellbeing.Two new editors, Quarraisha Abdool Karim (South Africa) and Chorh Chuan Tan (Singapore), join the established editor team of Roger Detels (USA), and Martin Gulliford (UK), representing a truly global outlook. The contributors are experts who have been drawn from around the world, offeringperspectives from vastly different health systems with ranging public health needs and priorities.The Oxford Textbook of Global Public Health remains the most comprehensive, accessible text in the field, and is an essential reference for students and practitioners in public health and epidemiology.

The greatest public health victories of the last century - public sanitation, vehicle safety measures, limits on smoking and tobacco use - have all been facilitated by public policies. While policy is an unparalleled tool for effecting change in public health, most professionals are unpreparedto plan, apply, or study policy in a consequential way.Prevention, Policy, and Public Health provides a basic foundation for students, professionals, and researchers to be more effective in the policy arena. It offers information on the dynamics of the policymaking process, theoretical frameworks, analysis, and policy applications. It also offers toolsfor advocacy and communication, two integral aspects of shaping policies for public health.Organized around the leading risk factors for premature death and supplemented with illustrative case study examples, this book will help professionals and researchers understand the dimensions of policy, which can in turn inform the conduct of research and evaluation. These skills, combined with anunderstanding of opportunities and limitations within governments, can be highly applicable to designing effective policies and programs.With current pressures to implement broad and sustainable public health improvements, policies are more important than ever for anyone in the study and practice of public health. This book can be considered a primer to truly understanding the connection between prevention, policy, and publichealth.

"From Sure Start to healthy workplaces, health action zones to community regeneration, this volume makes the leap from research to action." Professor Richard Parish, Chief Executive, The Royal Society for the Promotion of Health What is public health and how has it changed over time? What is the social context of public health and what are the dominant 21st centuryissues? What strategies are in place to address population health? This important book makes a significant contribution to the emergent body of public health knowledge by examining debates around the social context of health, including key socio-economic, environmental and cultural factors. In doing so, the text locates within a social context the theoretical debates and problems surrounding public health, and analyzes the practical public health strategies and solutions that have been developed to address them. The book moves beyond traditional theoretical discourse to include coverage of: The thinking, frameworks and processes that are actively shaping public health in the 21st century Provides tangible examples of public health strategies that have recently been introduced to tackle the social determinants of health The use of media strategies to promote health Public Health is key reading for students undertaking courses in health studies, health promotion, nursing, public health, social policy, social work and sociology. In addition to a wide student readership, the book's focus on public health action and current practice also makes it highly relevant to professionals. The text brings together a distinguished group of practitioners, social scientists and public health experts who contribute their ideas and research. Contributors: Amanda Amos, Mel Bartley, Linda Bauld, Hannah Bradby, Tarani Chandola, Jeff Collin, Paul Fleming, Colin Fudge, Sebastian Garman, Ben Gidley, Jenny Head, David Hunter, Martin King, Roderick Lawrence, Kelley Lee, Yaojun Li, Mhairi Mackenzie, Alex Marsh, Antony Morgan, Jennie Popay, Graham Scambler, Sasha Scambler, Angela Scriven, Nick Watson.

From clean drinking water, to seat belts, to immunizations, the impact of public health on every individual is undeniable. For undergraduates, an understanding of the foundations of public health is an essential step toward becoming an educated citizen. Public Health 101: Improving Community Health, Fourth Edition by Riegelman and Kirkwood provides a big-picture, population perspective on the determinants of health and disease and the tools available to protect and promote health. Now with a greater emphasis on community involvement and providing community based-services, the fourth edition examines the full range of options for intervention including use of the healthcare system, the public health system, and society-wide systems such as laws and taxation.Through a unique set of case studies, vignettes, and extensive examples, readers will come away with a clear understanding of how public health affects their everyday lives. They will learn and apply frameworks for thinking about public health issues and gain a deeper understanding about the health news they are exposed to each day.Updated throughout, Public Health 101, Fourth Edition offers:* New case studies on folic acid and spina bifida, the opioid epidemic, athletic health injuries, mPox, and the patient safety movement.* Interactive COVID-19 case studies revised and consolidated to take an historical perspective on the COVID-19 pandemic.* Updated materials for each chapter including Healthy People 2030, pandemic prevention, new vaccines, environmental justice and climate change, and academic health departments.* New Boxes in each chapter including misinformation/disinformation, suicide, health advocacy, national dietary guidelines, and open notes.* Improving Population Health interactive exercises retained from 3rd edition* Updated faculty resources, including Instructor's Manual with sample answers to most case studies, test bank, sample examinations, sample syllabus, PowerPoint slides, and videos with annotations for each chapter.* Navigate Advantage Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools.