Bloustein Public Health Major Reading Collection

Welcome to the Bloustein Public Health Major Reading Collection! This collection is comprised of print and ebooks recommended by BPH faculty to support your learning and coursework. 

Please note that this collection does not take the place of your course reading lists or course reserves, although many books in this collection may overlap with those you use in your courses. It is intended to be a collected companion to your studies by allowing you to read and learn from those books that are frequently used by faculty and by public health professionals. 

Print Books 

Print books are those books that are physically in a Rutgers campus library. For more information on the types of materials held by Rutgers Library, see this page. 

eBooks 

Ebooks are accessible digitally online. They are available usually through third party platforms like EbscoHost, JSTOR, or ProQuest. You can sometimes download Adobe ePubs or PDFs of chapters or the entirety of these books, and sometimes you must read them in a browser.

Finding eBooks 

eBooks can also be accessed via the link to their catalog record. You will then see the platform option(s) for the eBook. Click on a platform to view the book.  Have questions about accessing eBooks? Use our Ask a Librarian service to get real time support! 

Here's an example of an eBook catalog record from this collection:

Downloading eBooks 

You can sometimes download Adobe ePubs or PDFs of chapters or the entirety of these books, and sometimes you must read them in a browser. It depends on the platform and the license! 

Licenses

The library is able to acquire different types of licenses for eBooks. Sometimes, we are able to acquire unlimited user licenses, meaning that an unlimited amount of students could read the eBook all at once. Sometimes, we are only able to get a 1-person or 3-person license. Double-check the license of the book you're reading, and, if possible, download the eBook! 

An example of a single-user licensed eBook from this collection. 

Finding Print Books 

You can access the print books in this collection by clicking on the book link, which will take you to the catalog record for the book.

Here's an example of the catalog record for a print book in this collection: 

From the catalog record, you can view the location of the book, including the library building and the location in the building's stacks. Rutgers Libraries uses Library of Congress Classification system. If you need help navigating the Library of Congress call numbers to find your book, check out this helpful resource. You can always ask for help from library staff members, as well! 

Checking Out Books

Many of the print books in this collection are "non-circulating," which means you can't check them out. Why is this? Because we want other students in the Bloustein Public Health Major to be able to read and use them. Visit a scanner or read a few chapters at a time if you would like to engage with a non-circulating book.