A comprehensive listing of all health sciences databases, alphabetically and by subject is here.
To gain access to full-text when searching, click on the icon below:
Some of the most frequently accessed health sciences databases are:
PubMed: 28 million+ citations to biumedical literature from MEDLINE, life sciences journals, and e-books. The world’s largest biomedical database produced by the National Library of Medicine, PubMed contains links to full-text journal articles by clicking on the “Get it @ R” button or the publisher link in the upper right hand corner after each citation.
OVID MEDLINE: the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, as well as coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology.
Cochrane Library: Produced by the Cochrane Collaboration, contains high quality, independent evidence to inform clinical decision-making. The Cochrane Library includes the combined results of the best medical research studies, and it is widely recognized as the gold standard in evidence-based health care.
CINAHL: Comprehensive coverage of nursing and allied health literature from over 1,200 journals.
The resources below contain information about diseases and conditions, as well as rules and calculators. Versions of these programs are available on a host of mobile devices, via apps or web-optimized pages. For instructions, please visit our Mobile Apps page: https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/rwj/mobile-apps-and-sites
Clinical Key: Full-text access to clinical health information in journals, e-books, and streaming videos.
DynaMed: Just-in-time clinical reference tool and mobile app integrates evidence-based medicine for 3,200+ topics.
Essential Evidence Plus: A database of filtered, synopsized, evidence-based information, including EBM Guidelines; POEMs; Cochrane Abstracts; practice guidelines; Calculators; Derm Expert; E/M Coding; ICD-9 Lookup Tool.
UpToDate: Point-of-care information resource and mobile app covering 10,000 topics representing 22 specialties.
Visual Dx: Differential diagnosis decision support tool and mobile app designed to be used at the point-of-care.
Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to email@example.com or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.