Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

New Brunswick Graduate Students: Library Research

This guide is designed to help graduate students on the New Brunswick/Piscataway campuses navigate Rutgers University and downtown New Brunswick.

Writing and Citing

Rutgers University Libraries provides citation management tools to help you manage your references and not the other way around!

This guide will help you get started with EndNote, RefWorks, or Zotero. 

Our librarians also maintain a collection of LibGuides on writing and citation.

Using alerts to stay current

Set alerts in Google Scholar and our online databases. By setting alerts, you may receive via email or RSS feed new articles by a particular author, or those on a subject of interest. You may also receive the table of contents of your favorite journal’s most recent issue. Find instructions for setting up accounts that you can use to save searches and then set alerts using the tabs of this box.

Roberta Tipton, Business Librarian, offers pointers for using alerts in Grants for Graduate Students and Grants & Grantsmanship. Visit those guides for more information, and explore her pointers on keeping up-to-date using the tabs of this box (content used with permission). 

EBSCO (including Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, America: History and Life, MLA Bibliography and CINAHL among others)

To create an account, click "Sign In", the first tab on the dark blue toolbar to the upper right.  On the next screen, you will see the option, "Create a New Account" in the upper left corner of the Sign In box.

When results are displayed from your search, you will see Alert/Save/Share on the right of the box.  Three options are offered; to add all results to the folder as well as the search, to create an email or RSS feed alert and to use a persistent link to the search.  When you click on "Creating an alert," you are prompted for your email address, how often you wish to receive alerts and what citation format is preferred (brief, detailed or bibliographic manager).

To retrieve your alerts, click on Search History under the searching area and then select Retrieve Alerts.

See the YouTube tutorial for more information.

Ovid  (including Biosis Previews, HealthStar, Medline, and PsycINFO)

In each of its databases, Ovid makes “Your Workspace” available to you.  To create your account, click on “My Account” in the upper right corner of the search screen.

To save a search, move your mouse to “More >>” under Actions in the Search History to display the pull down menu with save, auto-alert, and RSS.  If you have yet to log into your account, you will be directed to do so first.

Ovid offers an additional option, “My Projects,” to account holders to create folders for organizing search results and journal articles.  You’ll notice the button on the lower right of the citation box along with Annotate for your notes.

Help pages for the various aspects of “My Workspace” follow.

- Quick Reference Card to My Projects 

- OvidSP Quick Reference Guide  (information about saved searches and auto-alerts begins on page 8)

ProQuest  (including GeoRef, Biological Sciences Collection, Congressional Publications, Education Journals, and more)

You can save searches, set up alerts and manage the content and supporting materials you find in ProQuest databases by setting up a My Research account.  To create an account and sign in, click on the profile icon and select the “Sign into My Research” link which is located in the upper right corner of the ProQuest search page.  The link to “Create a My Research account” is to the right of the Sing In box.  If you have a RefWorks account, you can choose to link your RefWorks account with your My Research account by selecting the optional RefWorks field.  You will be cued for your RefWorks log in name and password.  Once you create a My Research account, you will have access to the following items:

Documents – Save, view, and organize ProQuest documents. If you have a RefWorks account synced with your My Research account, you will also see your RefWorks records and folders here.

Searches – Save searches to provide easy future access to search strategies and results.

Alerts – Manage any alerts that you create while logged in to My Research.

RSS – Manage any RSS feeds that you create while logged in to My Research.

Widgets – Create and embed ProQuest search boxes in web pages and subject guides to make new access points to ProQuest.

Account – Adjust your account settings and preferences to personalize your ProQuest search experience.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a means for you to create alerts that does not require an account.   When you enter your search terms and receive the results, the green line which has Scholar on the left and the number of results on the right will include an envelope symbol and a link to “Create an alert.”  The next screen will cue you for the email address where you wish to receive the alerts.  A confirmation email will be sent to the address you entered.  The message will contain a check box for you to mark so the alerts process will take place.  The following excerpt from the Google Scholar Help section has more details. 

Get email alerts for new publications

QuickSearch

QuickSearch

Submit Search

Finding Articles

How do I find an article on a specific topic?

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Configure Google Scholar to always display get it at R by customizing your library links settings. This will allow you to access library subscription content even if you don’t start your search from this page.

If you encounter an article to which Rutgers University Libraries does not have access, submit an article delivery request

Library & Reference Assistance

Contact your subject specialist for research assistance and to schedule an appointment. Our specialists cover a range of disciplines and provide services for research and instruction.  

General reference help is available in many forms:

 

Guides for subject-specific research

Need some ideas on where to get started or resources to recommend to your students?

Check out our subject research guides!

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.