The Latino Literature Collection
- Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and FictionNovels, poems, and dramatic works by Latino authors are the main focus of the collection, but it also includes supplementary materials related to dramatic productions such as playbills, production stills, and audio files, and it contains a small amount of miscellaneous nonfiction. All works are reproduced in their entirety. The majority of works are in English, but around 25% of the collection is in Spanish.
The collection includes a large number of previously unpublished works collected directly from the authors. Authors represented include Ivan Acosta, Manuel Ramos, Cristina Garcia, Jaime Carrero, Eduardo Machado, Josefina Baez, Pedro Pietri, Miguel Piñero, Lynne Alvarez, Tomas Rivera, Rolando Hinojosa Smith, Virgil Suarez, Lucha Corpi, Tato Laviera, Judith Ortiz Cofer, Oscar Zeta Acosta, Jaime Manrique, Piri Thomas, Luis Valdez, Alurista, and Michael Nava.
Finding Literary Texts
Use a combination of official subject headings along with keywords to find materials in QuickSearch. Some subject headings relating to Latinx Studies are listed below.
To find works by Latina/o authors
American drama -- Cuban American [Mexican American, Puerto Rican etc.] authors
American literature -- Caribbean American [Hispanic American, Latin American, etc.] authors
American literature -- Mexican American Border Region
American literature -- Minority authors
Hispanic American theater
Puerto Rican authors. American drama
To find literary works about Latinos
Hispanic Americans [Cuban Americans, Mexican Americans, etc.] -- Fiction
Hispanic Americans in literature
Mexican American women -- Fiction
To Find Anthologies of Latina/o Literature
Hispanic Americans [Mexican American, Cuban Americans, etc.] -- Literary collections
Hispanic American women [Mexican American women, etc.] -- Literary collections
Also try an Advanced Search using the keyword "anthology" along with the subject "Hispanic American," "Mexican American," etc.
Finding Art, Cultural and Literary Criticism
Helpful Hint: Use the subject phrase "criticism and interpretation" as part of your search in QuickSearch.
For example, a subject search for:
Moraga, Cherríe -- Criticism and interpretation
will only display books about the works of Cherríe Moraga, not the works she wrote.
Selected Books from QuickSearch
Latino American Cinema: an Encyclopedia of Movies, Stars, Concepts, and Trends by ISBN: 0313380376Publication Date: 2012
The Translational Turn: Latinx Literature into the Mainstream by ISBN: 9780822965510Publication Date: 2019
¡Printing the revolution! : the rise and impact of Chicano graphics, 1965 to now by ISBN: 9780691210803Publication Date: 2020
