Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

21:082:215:01 - Global Modern Art: Search Terms and Databases for Global Modern Art

Welcome

Dear Students:

I hope the material in this guide helps you with your coursework for Professor Seggerman's  Global Modern Art course.  This page contains information about research resources related to art history, the humanities in general and the social sciences. Other pages include basic information about using the Rutgers University Libraries as well as suggested sources and examples of search terms to start you on your journey.

You will need to connect to the library's resources from off campus. There is a LibGuide that will help you get started using Rutgers Library Resources.

If you live too far away from any of the Rutgers Libraries to pick up a book you want, you can order it through your local library via Interlibrary Loan. Be aware that this process may take a long time, so plan your research projects in advance to allow for delays in delivery.

Please contact me any time with questions about research, or you can call the Dana Library Reference Desk during their listed hours of operation.

Best regards,

Krista White (kwhite2@rutgers.edu, 973-353-5913)

Dana Reference Desk 973-353-5901

Starting Search Terms

Terms that will help you get started in your searches might include:

Art, Modern
Art, Indic
Art, Nigerian
Art -- 21st Century

Modernism (Art) -- India
Art, Indic -- 20th century
Art, Pakistani -- 20th century
Artists -- India -- 21st century
Art and society -- India
Artists -- India -- Social conditions

Using ADVANCED SEARCH

Searched SUBJECT: Modernism (Art) -- Nigeria
Resource type: All items

Searched SUBJECT: African Art
Resource type: JOURNAL

Databases for Global Modern Art

Oxford Art Online provides full-text access to five important visual arts reference sources, they are:

  • Grove Art Online
  • The Oxford Companion to Western Art
  • The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
  • The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms

Art Index Retrospective contains the so-called 'back file' of the print Art Index from the first volume, 1929, through 1984. The index is citation based, and the information indexed is largely limited to the fields of art history, architectural history, and the visual arts.  

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.

JSTOR provides electronic access to back runs of more than 2,000 important scholarly journals. Journals that do not include full-text may be requested using the Article Delivery Service

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire de la Litterature de l'Art (RILA) provides a comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of Western art from late antiquity to the present. Broad in scope, BHA and RILA encompasses fine arts-painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, and architecture-as well as decorative and applied arts-crafts, graphic arts, folk, and popular art. 

Guide Owners

Krista White's picture
Krista White
Contact:
Digital Scholarship & Pedagogies Librarian

John Cotton Dana Library, Rutgers-Newark

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.