Research Guides: Genetics and Genomics: Find Articles

Introduction

Below is a list of indexes and databases to search for articles relevant to genetics, genomics, and related fields.

For a list of additional databases accessible through Rutgers University Libraries, please visit our Databases page.

Core Databases

Genetics Abstracts
Genetics Abstracts is an index of scholarship and research in genetics of all living things. It covers molecular genetics, chromosomes, extrachromosomal genetics, the cell cycle, chemical mutagenesis, radiation genetics, immunogenetics, developmental and evolutionary genetics, and related topics.
Human Genome Abstracts
Human Genome Abstracts is an index of historical international human genome scholarship and research. The most recent content indexed in this database dates from 1995. It covers historical research in nucleic acids, cloning vectors, gene cloning, sequencing, gene therapy, immunogenetics, mapping, mutagenesis, medical genetics, RFLP, genetic screening, and more.
Nucleic Acids Abstracts
Nucleic Acids Abstracts is an index of scholarship and research on nucleic acids. It covers physical, chemical, and biological aspects of nucleic acids and nucleoproteins, including detailed perspectives on cloning and sequencing strategies.
Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts
Oncogenes and Growth Factors Abstracts is an index of scholarship and research on mechanisms of oncogenes (genes that have the potential to cause cancer), growth factors, and the molecular basis of malignant transformations.
PubMed
PubMed is a database of more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed’s primary focus is biomedicine and health sciences, but it also includes related fields such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Biological Sciences Collection
Biological Science Collection contains scholarship on a wide range of topics in biological sciences, including biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, zoology, and aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.
BIOSIS Previews
BIOSIS Previews is a comprehensive index to life science and biomedical research. BIOSIS Previews covers many disciplines in biology and areas related to life sciences, including agronomy, biochemistry, biophysics, botany, earth & environmental sciences, food science & technology, genetics, medical sciences, neuroscience, pharmacology, physiology, plant sciences, zoology, and more.
Scopus
Scopus is an index of leading scholarly journals, books series, conference proceedings, trade publications, and patents. It covers the life sciences, physical sciences, health sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Web of Science
Web of Science indexes leading scholarly journals, books, proceedings, and other formats. Its major subject areas include sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. The heart of the platform is the Web of Science Core Collection, which indexes over 20,000 scholarly journals.

Google Scholar searches across a wide range of scholarly literature, including articles, books, theses, conference papers, and technical reports. Sources include academic publishers, professional societies, university repositories, and other scholarly websites.

To access full text available through the Rutgers Libraries in Google Scholar, search using the box above and then click the "Get it @ R" icon next to any results that interest you.

To configure Google Scholar to always display "Get it @ R" links to full text, customize your library links settings.