Dictionaries (Electronic Reference Sources)

Links to a wide assortment of dictionaries and dictionary resources in all disciplines and languages.

Acronyms and Abbreviations

Abbreviations.com
Search by acronym or abbreviation, do a reverse lookup to retrieve an acronym or abbreviation, or search by a word in the definition. Acronyms and abbreviations can also be browsed by category.
Acronym Finder
A searchable database containing common acronyms, abbreviations, and initialisms about all subjects. Search results are divided into broad categories such as information technology; military and government; business and finance; science and medicine; organizations and schools; and slang, chat, & pop culture.
Acronym Server
A searchable index of acronyms and words used in acronyms.
All Acronyms
Search or browse for "acronyms, initialisms, alphabetisms and other abbreviations."
DOD Dictionary of Military and Associated Terms
From the U.S. Department of Defense, the dictionary includes a separate section on acronyms.
FileInfo.com
Billed as "the definitive resource for information about file extensions and file types," each entry contains information about the file format, a description of the file, and how to open the file.
FILExt: The File Extension Source
A searchable database of file extensions and the programs that use them.
FOLDOC: Free On-Line Dictionary of Computing
A searchable dictionary of acronyms, jargon, programming languages, tools, architecture, operating systems, networking, theory, conventions, standards, mathematics, telecoms, electronics, institutions, companies, projects, products, history, and in fact anything to do with computing.
FullForms
An "online source for abbreviations, acronyms, initialisms, and similar classes." Provides basic definitions along with categories, country/region relevance, and popularity.
Genamics JournalSeek
A database of freely available journal information including descriptions, journal abbreviations, journal homepage links, subject categories, and ISSNs.
GovSpeak: A Guide to Government Acronyms & Abbreviations
Lists abbreviations for government agencies, programs, and publications; also includes links to the home page (or best alternative) for each agency, program, and publication listed.
Terms & Acronyms (U.S. EPA)
Defines in non-technical language the more commonly used environmental terms appearing in EPA publications, news releases, and other Agency documents. From the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.