Data Science Graduate Specialist
Data Science Basics - Fall 2023
This workshop series is designed for individuals new to working with data and people who want to improve their data management and visualization skills. Each workshop introduces a tool and related resources, all of which are designed to help attendees perform data analyses and create data visualizations.
Topics in the spring 2023 workshop schedule included:
- Introduction to Python Programming
- Data Visualization with Python
- Relational databases (SQL)
- Data visualization with Tableau Public
These workshops will be online only. If there are workshops you would like to see offered, please email laura.palumbo@rutgers.edu.
Please view and register for these workshops and other events using the calendar system: New Brunswick Libraries Workshops
Fall 2023 - Workshop Materials
- Workshop 1: Introduction to Python
This workshop will introduce the idea of using programming languages to delegate tasks to your machine and demonstrate the benefits and ease of use that Python offers. We will cover Python basics, an introduction to the rich library of data science resources in Python, and an introduction to Jupyter Notebooks as a powerful tool for coding and documenting your projects. No previous experience is needed.
Note: Instructions for any required downloads will be sent prior to the workshop.
Workshop materials will be posted here after the workshop.
- Workshop 2: Python for Data Visualization
In this workshop, we will learn how to use two popular libraries from the Python programming language (matplotlib and seaborn) to visualize data. No prior experience with programming or Python is required. An email will be sent prior to the workshop with any required downloads.
Workshop materials will be posted here after the workshop.
- Workshop 3: Introduction to Relational Databases with SQL
This workshop will introduce the relational database as an alternative to spreadsheets. We will use the self-contained SQLite database engine, practicing with both an easy to use graphical user interface (GUI) and exploring the corresponding SQL commands. We will discuss appropriate use cases for a database engine like SQLite and how it compares to server-based database engines (e.g., MySQL or PostgreSQL). No prior experience is required.
Workshop materials will be posted here after the workshop.
- Workshop 4: Introduction to Tableau for Data Visualization
This workshop will provide an introduction to Tableau Public. Tableau Public is a free platform used to create and publicly share data visualizations, which can include charts, dashboards, maps, and more. No prior experience with Tableau or programming skills are required. An email will be sent prior to the workshop with any required downloads.
Workshop materials will be posted here after the workshop.
Download and install software
Workshop Materials (Spring 2023)
- Slide deck for workshop 1 - Using Excel for data management and analysisThis workshop will introduce the advantages to using Microsoft Excel for data management and analysis, as well as the limitations. We will discuss descriptive statistics while applying common formulas, building basic charts, and creating pivot tables. No prior experience is required.
- Slide deck for workshop 2 - Cleaning and enriching data with OpenRefineThis workshop will introduce the main features of a free and open-source tool, OpenRefine, that is useful for cleaning, analyzing, and “enriching” data. OpenRefine, formerly known as Google Refine, can be used to normalize semi-structured data that is not captured in conventional ways, such as in a table or database, and capture data from websites. It also allows users to “rewind” to any previous version of their transformed data. No prior experience is required.
- Slide deck for workshop 3 - Introduction to creating relational databases and SQLThis workshop will introduce the relational database as an alternative to spreadsheets. We will use the self-contained SQLite database engine, practicing with both an easy to use graphical user interface (GUI) and exploring the corresponding SQL commands. We will discuss appropriate use cases for a database engine like SQLite and how it compares to server-based database engines (e.g., MySQL or PostgreSQL). No prior experience is required.
- Slide deck for workshop 4 - Querying your SQL databaseLearn how to query SQL databases using simple commands. This workshop will examine the results of several SQL commands, including SELECT queries, aggregate functions, and JOIN operations. This workshop will build on last week's introduction to SQL, but no previous experience is needed to attend.
- Slide deck for workshop 5 - Introduction to the command line and scriptingHave you noticed that certain file types will not open on your other devices? Have you ever wanted to convert an image to a PDF file? This workshop will introduce three free and open-source tools used to convert between file types (including images, documents, and audio or video files) and to resize such files. We will also review basic concepts related to the command line, including navigating between folders, listing the files within a given folder, and copying files to a new location. The workshop will end by introducing basic loops, a frequently used concept in computer programming. No prior experience is required.
- Slide deck for workshop 6 - Introduction to Python programmingThis workshop will provide a beginning level introduction to computer programming using Python, a popular general-purpose programming language. No prior programming knowledge is required. We will present Python syntax, variable declaration and assignment, data types, and conditional statements. An email will be sent prior to the workshop with any required downloads.
- Slide deck for workshop 7 - Python for data visualizationIn this workshop, we will learn how to use two popular libraries from the Python programming language (matplotlib and seaborn) to visualize data. No prior experience with programming or Python is required. An email will be sent prior to the workshop with any required downloads.
- Slide deck for workshop 8 - Introduction to TableauThis workshop will provide an introduction to Tableau Public. Tableau Public is a free platform used to create and publicly share data visualizations, which can include charts, dashboards, maps, and more. No prior experience with Tableau or programming skills are required. An email will be sent prior to the workshop with any required downloads.