Cultural Competency

Caribbean Literature is a searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes English, French, Spanish, Dutch, and various Creole languages. Particular titles of note include the works of Derek Walcott, José Martí, Wilson Harris, as well as numerous Creole dictionaries.

Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Ethnic NewsWatch has a total of over one million articles (with about 250,000 of them in Spanish) from more than 250 publications

The Handbook of Latin American Studies consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities. Each year, more than 130 academics from around the world choose over 5,000 works for inclusion in the Handbook. Continuously published since 1936, the Handbook offers Latin Americanists an essential guide to available resources.Publications listed are primarily from 1990 to the present, but earlier works are also included. The Library of Congress is planning to incorporate into this database all the printed volumes of the handbook into this database.

The HIDVL is a unique collection of videos of theater and performance art productions throughout the Americas. Works include experimental and collective theater, political, feminist and queer performance, interviews, among other works. The searchable database also includes a collection of artist profiles with biographies and bibliographies for further reading.

The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social sciences and humanities journals published in the United States and Latin America in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The journals indexed include information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States, focusing on analyses of current political, cultural, economic, and social issues.

The Latin American Newspaper collection contains scanned images of historical newspapers from North, Central and South America, and the Caribbean from the 19th and early 20th centuries. The entire database may be searched at once, or can be browsed by country, time period, language or newspaper title.

Latino Literature includes creative works by Latino authors: novels, works of poetry, drama, materials relating to dramatic productions such as playbills, production stills and audio files, as well a small amount of miscellaneous nonfiction. All works are reproduced in their entirety. The contents can be browsed or searched, or the drama collection can be searched by itself with a larger number of advanced search features. Users can also search for theater companies that have produced the works of drama included the database, and even for works containing characters based on particular people. The database includes a large number of previously unpublished works collected directly from the authors, making it a particularly rich resource for scholars of Latino/a and Latin American literature and culture

PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas)
This database is a comprehensive reference resource providing more than hundred full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Content is available in Spanish, Portuguese and English

This database provides access to full-text articles from over 275 sociology, social work and related social sciences journals