Citizen Science

After reviewing the literature on citizen science and social‐learning literature and examining 14 conservation projects across Europe, they developed a template that "can be used to explore learning arrangements (i.e., learning events and materials) in citizen science projects."

From citizenscience.org, this article features a number a webinars to offer help incorporating citizen science into your curriculum.

They developed "a teaching strategy that combined citizen science with inquiry-based learning to offer first year university students an authentic research experience," through a six-year partnership between the Australian phenology citizen science program ClimateWatch and biology students from the University of Western Australia.

Discusses current approaches and motivations to integrating citizen science into K-12 and higher education classrooms.

"Can participation in citizen science projects be used as coursework with real practical experiential-learning benefits, without affecting the citizen science project outcomes? We seek to begin to answer this question via a case study analysis with Cyclone Center (CC), which asks participants to classify tropical cyclone characteristics through analysis of infrared satellite imagery."

This case study explores the results of a partnership between a university, a university hospital and a regional broadcaster in Funen, Denmark, who collaborated on a citizen science project entitled “A Healthier Funen”.

Web of Science indexes leading scholarly journals, books, proceedings, reports, and other formats. Its major subject areas include sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

ScienceDirect is Elsevier’s platform for ebooks and peer-reviewed journals in the areas of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

ProQuest Natural Science Collection combines major natural sciences indexes with full-text journals, conference proceedings, and other scholarly and technical sources. Subject areas covered include agriculture, aquatic science, biology, conservation, earth & environmental sciences, food science, forestry, geography, medical sciences, meteorology, pharmacology, public health, veterinary science, and water resources.

The IEEE/IEE Electronic Library(IEL) is a collaboration between the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers(IEEE)in the US and the Institution of Engineering and Technology(IET) in the UK. It covers more than 30% of the world's literature in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science, information science, materials science, physical sciences and biomedical engineering.

PubMed is a database of more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed’s primary focus is biomedicine and health sciences, but it also includes related fields such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

GreenFILE is an index of publications on the environmental impact of human activity. Subjects covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, recycling, renewable energy, and sustainable agriculture.

Covers every area of academic study, including arts, biology, chemistry, computer sciences, ethnic studies, engineering, language and linguistics, literature, medical sciences, philosophy, physics, psychology, religion, social sciences, and more.

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a national online database of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.

During the time Rutgers University Libraries physical buildings are closed due to COVID-19, many print books under copyright held by RUL are temporarily available only to Rutgers students, faculty, and staff on the HathiTrust platform. After linking to HathiTrust, current students, faculty, and staff only may log in with NetID and password to access these books, which are labelled Temporary Access. Click Temporary Access and then click Check Out to read these books in your browser.

APA PsycInfo is an index of scholarly literature in behavioral sciences and mental health fields. It is relevant to the study of psychology and related fields, such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.

This database provides access to full-text articles from over 275 sociology, social work and related social sciences journals