Chemistry of Art

This information is from the Finding Images Research Guide by Megan Lotts, Art Librarian. For more information, please see her complete guide at https://libguides.rutgers.edu/findimages

• ArtStor Images Guides

  There are two important details to keep in mind while browsing images in Artstor. First, it will require a Rutgers affiliation, that is, a NetID and the accompanying password. Second, in order to download some images you may also be required to have an Artstor account. Registration for this account is free.
• Artsy

  Today, more than 25,000 images of art and architecture are downloadable on Artsy. If an image on Artsy has a “Download Image” button next to it, this means the image may be downloaded from the Artsy website and used independently for teaching, study and other purposes.
• Brown University Art and Architecture Images

  Brown University Library maintains a expansive list of art and architecture image resources on the web. Includes links to free and fee image sources.
• Europena Art HIstory Collection

  Europeana Art introduces artists and artworks from across the whole of Europe. It has 874,274 Images, 33,931 Texts, 1,265 Videos, 299 3D objects, and 120 Sound recordings that are in the public domain.
• Getty Open Content Images

  Currently, there are more than 99,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute available through the Open Content Program, including more than 72,000 from the Research Institute's Foto Arte Minore archive, which features photographs of the art and architecture of Italy over 30 years by German photographer and scholar Max Hutzel (1913–1988). Other images include paintings, drawings, manuscripts, photographs, antiquities, sculpture, decorative arts, artists' sketchbooks, watercolors, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, and 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks.
• The Met OASC

  The Metropolitan Museum’s initiative—called Open Access for Scholarly Content (OASC)—provides access to images of art in its collection that the Museum believes to be in the public domain and free of other known restrictions; these images are now available for scholarly use in any media. Works that are covered by the new policy are identified on the Museum’s website.
• NGA Images

  NGA Images is a repository of digital images of the collections of the National Gallery of Art. On this website you can search, browse, share, and download images. A standards-based reproduction guide and a help section provide advice for both novices and experts. More than 45,000 open access digital images up to 4000 pixels each are available free of charge for download and use. NGA Images is designed to facilitate learning, enrichment, enjoyment, and exploration.
• NYPL Digital Library

  Provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library’s vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

  more...
• OpenGlam Open Collections

  OpenGlam has brought together collections from around the world that provide digital scans or photos that can be freely used without any restrictions.
• Web Gallery of Art

  The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Romanesque, Gothic, Renaissance, Baroque, Neoclassicism, Romanticism periods (1000-1850), currently containing over 29.000 reproductions
• RijksStudio Images

  Online museum of its works. These high-resolution images can be freely used and remixed.
• Victoria and Albert Museum

  Provides online access to over 265,000 images of objects in their collection.