Hybrid Identities
Hybridity is a concept that crosses many topics and scholarly disciplines. Below are a sample of books owned by Rutgers libraries that discuss how people create, understand, and live hybrid identities.
One of the most famous, scholarly conversations about Hybridity centers on Homi K. Bhabha's The Location of Culture, a response to Edward Said's Orientalism, a foundational work on postcolonial theory. This brief blog post summarizes Bhabha's theory of hybridity.
To search for more resources on this topic, you might use the following terms in an Advanced Search as SUBJECTs, rather than ANY FIELD:
Hybridity AND Postcolonialism
AND Gender identity
AND Ethnicity
AND Immigration
AND Migration
The Location of Culture by
Rethinking questions of identity, social agency and national affiliation, Bhabha provides a working, if controversial, theory of cultural hybridity - one that goes far beyond previous attempts by others. In The Location of Culture, he uses concepts such as mimicry, interstice, hybridity, and liminality to argue that cultural production is always most productive where it is most ambivalent. Speaking in a voice that combines intellectual ease with the belief that theory itself can contribute to practical political change, Bhabha has become one of the leading post-colonial theorists of this era.
Call Number: PN761.B48 2004ISBN: 9780415336390Publication Date: 2004-09-29
Performing Hybridity by
Amid the modern-day complexities of migration and exile, immigration and repatriation, notions of stable national identity give way to ideas about cultural OC hybridity.OCO The authors represented in this volume use different forms of performative writing to question this process, to ask how the production of new political identities destabilizes ideas about gender, sexuality, and the nation in the public sphere."
ISBN: 0816688451Publication Date: c. 1999
Rewriting the Return to Africa by
Rewriting The Return to Africa: Voices of Francophone Caribbean Women Writers examines the ways Guadeloupean women writers Maryse Cond , Simone Schwarz-Bart and Myriam Warner-Vieyra demystify the theme of the return to Africa as opposed to the masculinist version by N gritude male writers from the 1930s to 1960s. N gritude, a cultural and literary movement, drew much of its strength from the idea of a mythical or cultural reconnection with the African past allegorized as a mother figure. In contrast these women writers, of the post-colonial era who are to large extent heirs of N gritude, differ sharply from their male counterparts in their representation of Africa. In their novels, the continent is not represented as a propitious mother figure but a disappointing father figure. This study argues that these women writers' subversion of the metaphorical figure of Africa and its transformation is tied to their gender. The women novelists are indeed critical of a female allegorization of the land that is reminiscent of a colonial or nationalist project and a simplistic representation of motherhood that does not reflect the complexities of the Diaspora's relation to origins and identity. Unlike the primary male writers of the N gritude movement, they carefully "gendered" the notion of return by choosing female protagonists who made their way back to the Motherland in search of identity. I argue that writing is a more suitable space for the female subject seeking identity because it allows her to have a voice and become subject rather than object as that was the case with the N gritude writers. The women writers' shattering of the image of Mother Africa and subsequently that of Father Africa highlights the complex relationship between Africa and the Diaspora from a female point of view. It shifts the identity quest of the characters towards the Caribbean, which emerges as the real problematic mother: a multi-faceted, fragmented figure that reflects the constitutive clash that occurred in the archipelago between Europe, Africa, and the Americas where the issues of race, gender, class, culture, ethnicity, history, and language are very complex.
Call Number: PQ3944.F73 2011ISBN: 9780739148266Publication Date: 2011-08-11
Diversity and Homogeneity by
Diversity and Homogeneity explores current issues related to the nation, ethnicity and gender in literature, film, media and theatrical performance in both the UK and the USA. Employing a broad research framework, it investigates the problematics of migration, nomadism, nationhood, citizenship, patriotism, terrorism, totalitarianism, social and racial equality, as well as masculinity and femininity in modern multicultural societies. Keenly attuned to questions of alterity, social and cultural fluidity, and heterogeneous forms of identity, yet also sensitive to contemporary unifying tendencies informing an increasingly globalized world, the volume's contributions critically interrogate and challenge the traditional notions attached to the three overarching categories of the book's title.
Call Number: EbookISBN: 9781443886987Publication Date: 2016-03-15
Databases for Hybrid Identities
ProQuest Sociology - This database provides access to full-text articles from over 275 sociology, social work and related social sciences journals.
Sociological Abstracts - Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Ethnic Newswatch - Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Ethnic NewsWatch has a total of over one million articles (with about 250,000 of them in Spanish) from more than 250 publications. Coverage begins in 1990.
Abstracts in Anthropology - Abstracts in Anthropology covers a broad spectrum of current anthropological topics from a vast number of periodicals. Publishing approximately 3,000 abstracts per volume, selected and classified, fully indexed by author and subject, it provides a thorough coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields: cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, and linguistics.
Guide Owners
John Cotton Dana Library, Rutgers-Newark
Book an Appointment: https://rulkwhite2.youcanbook.me