Digital Scholarship and Pedagogies Librarian
185 University Avenue
Newark, NJ 07102
Welcome to Graphic Design Senior Studio Seminar II
Dear Students:
I hope the material in this guide helps you with your coursework for Professors Bernstein's and Jampol's Senior Studio Seminar II courses. This page contains information about research resources related to Graphic Design. Other pages include basic information about using the Rutgers University Libraries as well as suggested sources and examples of search terms to start you on your journey.
You will need to connect to the library's resources from off campus. There is a LibGuide that will help you get started using Rutgers Library Resources.
If you live too far away from any of the Rutgers Libraries to pick up a book you want, you can order it through your local library via Interlibrary Loan. Be aware that this process may take a long time, so plan your research projects in advance to allow for delays in delivery.
Books on Graphic Design at the Dana Library
The Elements of Graphic Design by
Now in full color in a larger size! 40% more content and over 750 images to enhance and better clarify the concepts in this thought-provoking resource for graphic designers, professors, and students. This very popular design book has been wholly revised and expanded to feature a new dimension of inspiring and counterintuitive ideas to thinking about graphic design relationships. The second edition includes a new section on web design and new discussions of modularity, framing, motion and time, rules of randomness, and numerous quotes supported by images and biographies. This pioneering work provides designers, art directors, and students--regardless of experience--with a unique approach to successful design. Veteran designer and educator Alex. W. White has assembled a wealth of information and examples in his exploration of what makes visual design stunning and easy to read. Readers will discover White's four elements of graphic design, including how to: define and reveal dominant images, words, and concepts; use scale, color, and position to guide the viewer through levels of importance; employ white space as a significant component of design and not merely as background; and use display and text type for maximum comprehension and value to the reader. Offering a new way to think about and use the four design elements, this book is certain to inspire better design. Allworth Press, an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing, publishes a broad range of books on the visual and performing arts, with emphasis on the business of art. Our titles cover subjects such as graphic design, theater, branding, fine art, photography, interior design, writing, acting, film, how to start careers, business and legal forms, business practices, and more. While we don't aspire to publish a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are deeply committed to quality books that help creative professionals succeed and thrive. We often publish in areas overlooked by other publishers and welcome the author whose expertise can help our audience of readers.
Call Number: Z246.W56 2011ISBN: 9781581157628Publication Date: 2011-03-15
Will Burtin and the Display of Visual Knowledge by
This book explores the work of Will Burtin (1908-1972), designer, visionary, and teacher. Whether in advertising, exhibits, magazines, or other print material, his constant goal was to provide the audience with optimum communication of the content. Burtin designed visual training manuals for gunners during World War II, served as art director of Fortune magazine, organized several ground-breaking design conferences, and worked as a design consultant for the pharmaceutical giant Upjohn. Burtin had a unique ability to visually express complex concepts in a sophisticated yet aesthetically pleasing and accessible manner; this became the de?ning characteristic of his work. This chapbook, as well as the materials found in the Will Burtin Collection in the Graphic Design Archives, can be studied to give meaningful understanding to Burtin's design process. R. ROGER REMMINGTON is the Massimo and Lella Vignelli Distinguished Professor of Design in the School of Design, Rochester Institute of Technology. He is the author of several books, including Design and Science-The Life and Career of Will Burtin, co-authored with Robert S. P. Fripp, and American Modernism: Graphic Design, 1920 to 1960. He is the author of several books, including Design and Science-The Life and Career of Will Burtin, co-authored with Robert S. P. Fripp, and American Modernism: Graphic Design, 1920 to 1960. He is the author of several books, including Design and Science-The Life and Career of Will Burtin, co-authored with Robert S. P. Fripp, and American Modernism: Graphic Design, 1920 to 1960. He is the author of several books, including Design and Science-The Life and Career of Will Burtin, co-authored with Robert S. P. Fripp, and American Modernism: Graphic Design, 1920 to 1960.
Call Number: NC999.4.B87R47 2009ISBN: 9781933360362Publication Date: 2009-01-17
Participate by
Creativity is no longer the sole territory of the designer and other creative professionals. Amateurs are drawn to websites such as Flickr, Threadless, WordPress, YouTube, Etsy, and Lulu, approaching design with the expectation that they will fill in the content. Never has user-driven design been easier for the public to generate and distribute. How will such a fundamental shift toward bottom-up creation affect the design industry? Designing for Participatory Culture considers historical and contemporary models of making that provide ideas for harnessing user-generated content through participatory design. The authors discuss how designers can lead the new breed of widely distributed amateur creatives rather than be overrun by them. DPC challenges designers to transform audiences into users, and completed layouts into open-ended systems. The book opens with an introductory essay entitled 'Ceding Control,' which explores the general concept of participatory culture and the resulting emergence of systems-oriented models of co-creation. Four chapters Modularity, Flexibility, Community, and Technology explore the various approaches to participatory design through critical essays, case studies, and interviews with leading designers in the field.
Call Number: NC997.A689 2011ISBN: 9781616890254Publication Date: 2011-10-19
The Graphic Designer's Electronic-Media Manual by
This comprehensive resource for graphic designers will help you merge traditional print design skills with new technology to create imaginative, informative, and useful online experiences for clients and ultimately the end users. The Graphic Designer's Electronic-Media Manual focuses on reigning in the specific skills and tools necessary for creating design projects for the web and beyond. You'll also find a rich collection of sound design examples for the web from studios around the world. Unlike other books on web and electronic media, this book is not a technical manual, but a visual resource packed with real-world examples of design for the web.
ISBN: 1592537782Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Smashing Logo Design by
The ultimate guide to Logo Design from the world's most popular resource for web designers and developers Web designers and developers now find themselves tasked with designing not only a client's Web site, but also their logo and brand identity. By adding Logo Design to your portfolio, you also add brand skills and unique content. This unparalleled guide dives into the topic of design theory and tells you everything you need to know in order to build remarkable logo. No matter your level of experience, Smashing Magazine covers techniques and best practices in understandable way. You'll look behind the scenes at the art of creating identities. From theory to instruction to inspiration, this must-have book addresses the challenges and rewards of creating a logo that adheres to specific rules of successful design. Details the process of creating a memorable and unique logo, from finding inspiration to executing the design Looks at what makes a logo successful, various typefaces to explore, ways to use color, the pros and cons of vector, how to prepare for print, and more Zeroes in on the research, concepts, and techniques that go into designing an amazing logo Includes more than 400 never-before-published logos, interviews with established designers, and biographies of logo design masters with case studies of their iconic work Appeals to a wide range of readers, from aspiring designer to experienced professional Encompassing everything about the art of creating identities, this is the only book you need to get started designing today.
Call Number: NC1002.L63H37 2011ISBN: 9781119993322Publication Date: 2011-06-15
Acrylic Fusion by
This unique reference book is designed to excite and motivate you to push beyond traditional techniques and to explore new approaches to painting. Acrylic Fusion frees you from traditional approaches to painting by exposing you to a diverse range of alternative techniques, unconventional processes, and the integration of unique materials that stimulate creativity and encourage experimentation. It's a must-have resource aimed at artists who make paintings, and it is also a great reference for any crafters, makers, and DIYers who use paint in their work, whether they make art journals, design greeting cards, or refinish furniture because the techniques can easily be adapted for many different kinds of projects and applications.
Call Number: TT385.T726 2012ISBN: 9781592537525Publication Date: 2012-01-01
The Story of Graphic Design by
This comprehensive illustrated history begins with the origins of the alphabet itself and carries the reader through the first handwritten books, the invention of printing in the Renaissance, the explosion of graphic styles (and printed media) in the 19th and 20th centuries, and the impact of digital technology on design today. Like E.H. Gombrich's magnificent Story of Art, The Story of Graphic Design is a compelling narrative that explores the evolution of styles under the pressure of social, cultural, and technological change, accompanied by a comprehensive selection of illustrations of key works in typography and design since the invention of writing. It covers a remarkable number of topics, from the art of the medieval manuscript to the birth of advertising to the workings of modern mass media. Unlike all other historians of design, Patrick Cramsie is able to bring a designer's eye to the analysis of visual communication. The Story of Graphic Design is an indispensible book for designers, historians, and students, and will find a wide readership among people who are interested in the visual arts or concerned about the future of the printed word.
Call Number: NC998.C72 2010ISBN: 9780810972926Publication Date: 2010-05-01
Finding Articles
The following sources can be used to access bibliographic information on books and journal articles in art. The sources listed here include both sources specific to art (such as Art Source); and sources that cover a broader subject area of which art is a part (such as Academic Search Premiere or Humanities Source)
Electronic Indexes and Abstracts -- Rutgers Restricted Access
ARTbibliographies Modern
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides citations and abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with more than 13,000 new entries being added each year.
Art and Architecture ePortal
A&AePortal is a collection of over 250 art, architecture, design, and photography e-books and over 32,000 images of art objects. The e-books are major works in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design. The images are from libraries and museums from around the world. Each image is linked to the book chapters in which it appears. Each book includes a list of illustrations. Each illustration is linked to detailed information about that the illustrated object, such as creator name, style, subject, date, dimensions, materials, and location.
Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
Art Index Retrospective contains the so-called 'back file' of the print Art Index from the first volume, 1929, through 1984. The index is citation based, and the information indexed is largely limited to the fields of art history, architectural history, and the visual arts. Because the index stretches back to the first quarter of the twentieth century, it contains citations for primary source material on a variety of art historical movements in the field of modernism.
ARTstor
ARTstor is a digital image library of approximately 700,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Academic Search Premier (Ebsco)
A multi-discipline, full-text database of 3,200 scholarly publications as well as abstracts and indexing for over 4,170 scholarly journals with some dating back to 1984. A valuable and large collection of peer-reviewed full text journals for nearly all academic areas of study.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire de la Litterature de l'Art (RILA)
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) and Répertoire de la Litterature de l'Art (RILA) provides a comprehensive bibliography of scholarly writing about the history of Western art from late antiquity to the present. Broad in scope, BHA and RILA encompasses fine arts-painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, and architecture-as well as decorative and applied arts-crafts, graphic arts, folk, and popular art.
JSTOR
A database featuring back runs of key journals. JSTOR has agreed with publishers to set up a "moving wall" so that the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 2-5 years after the publishing date. The Rutgers subscription to JSTOR provides access to 23 philosophy journals, including Journal of Philosophy, Mind, Philosophical Quarterly, and Philosophical Review. JSTOR features full-text searching of key words and phrases.
Reference Resources
Electronic Resources for Art and Design
Electronic Journals
Arts and Design Studies
Arts and Design Studies is a peer reviewed journal published by IISTE. The journal publishes original papers at the forefront of arts and design research. The journal, begun in 2011, is published in both printed and online versions. The online version is free access and download. Issues of the journal are available from 2011 to the present.
Design Quarterly
Originally printed as Every Day Art Quarterly by the Walker Museum, Design Quarterly published articles on the impact that designers made in the world of art and beyond. Rutgers has access to the full run of the journal from 1954-1996 in JSTOR.
Design Issues
Design Issues is a peer-reviewed academic journal covering design history, theory, and criticism. The journal typically includes theoretical and critical articles, book reviews, and illustrations. Design Issues was established in 1984 and is published online and in hard copy by MIT Press. (Wikipedia) Rutgers has access to issues from 1984 to the present in a number of databases. There is a 1 year embargo, which means that articles from the most recent 12 months are not yet available. You can order embargoed articles via Interlibrary Loan.
Form
This journal concentrates on the professional aspects of architecture, interior, landscape, furniture, product design, materials, and technology. Form has been published since 1994. Rutgers has access to issues from 2008 to the present. You can order articles from earlier years of publication via Interlibrary Loan.
Grafica : documents de disseny gràfic/Journal of Graphic Design (Spanish)
Grafica is a journal dedicated to scientific communication about Graphic Design. Peer review follows the criteria established by CENAI (19), ANECA (20) and LATINDEX (33) for journals, as well as IN-RECS and from other scientific journals. Its mission is to publish works about graphic design in empirical, rather than subjective, form.
Print
This trade magazine for graphic and print industries has issues available electronically from 1995 to the present. If you need articles from issues of the magazine printed before 1995, you may order them via Interlibrary Loan.
Print Journals for Graphic Design
Journals and Trade Magazines for Graphic Design
You must be logged in to the library's web site in order to access these databases.
Novum : das Forum für Kommunikations-Design (Print Only)
English title: Novum : World of graphic design
This trade journal has issues from 1997 to 2005. The bound journals are in the basement of the Dana Library; You may photocopy or scan articles for your own use in the Copy Room behind the security desk. If you need an article from a year that Dana Library does not own, you may use Interlibrary Loan.
Graphic Design USA(Annual of the American Institute of Graphic Arts)
The Dana Library has print copies of this periodical from 1987-1995 and 1997-2000. The bound journals are in the basement of the Dana Library; You may photocopy or scan articles for your own use in the Copy Room behind the security desk. The Douglass Laurie Library has the year 1996, and articles from this issue may be requested thorugh an Article Delivery Request. You must order articles from any years not listed here via Interlibrary Loan.
Electronic Encyclopedias & Databases
Encyclopedia of Fashion [Rutgers Restricted]
"A reference book covering individual designers and fashion houses that have been active throughout the 20th and 21st centuries."
Oxford (Grove) Art Online [Rutgers Restricted]
Browse alphabetically or search for articles on all aspects of art, including biographies of artists. Includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Most entries include bibliographies and links to related articles.