Books you find in QuickSearch can be delivered to the library of your choosing. Click the title in your search results to go to the full record, sign in (if you haven't already), then click Request.
If you want to borrow a book that is checked out, go to the full record, log in, and click EZ-Borrow. EZ-Borrow is a fast and easy way to borrow the book from a nearby university library. It usually takes three to five working days. If EZ-Borrow doesn't have the book, try UBorrow. UBorrow is a similar service from the Big Ten universities; mouse over Services & Tools on the Libraries homepage, click Request/Borrow/Renew, then UBorrow.
Occasionally neither EZ-Borrow and Uborrow will have a book you need. In that case, simply request the book (or video, etc.) through regular Interlibrary Loan (ILL). From the Libraries Libraries homepage, mouse over Services & Tools, click Borrow/Request/Renew, then "Request an Interlibrary Loan." Log in, click "Book Request" and fill out the form. How long this takes depends upon the loaning library. Usually between one and two weeks.
The catalogs listed below provide access to library resources beyond Rutgers University. For a more complete list of catalogs, click here.
A worldwide catalog, many, many millions of records of books, journals, videos, etc. from libraries in over 170 countries. If you find a title that RU Libraries hold, there will be an RUL logo as part of the record; click Get@R. If we don't have it and you want it, click Request Interlibrary Loan.
Center for Research Libraries (CRL)
CRL is a special library that holds rare materials not often collected even by major research libraries. Rutgers Libraries is a member and Rutgers staff, students and faculty are eligible for long-term loans from their collections.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Hathi is bigger and better than Google Books. More titles, better search options. Titles published before 1923 are usually available in fulltext. Click Log In in the upper right so that you can create and share "collections.".
QuickSearch is the search option at the top of the Libraries homepage. It searches both the Libraries collections and most (but not all) of the databases. You need to use QuickSearch to look for ebooks and/or print books. If you are searching by topic, there are two ways to limit your search to books. See the two boxes below.
QuickSearch does not search the Historical Abstracts database. For articles in British history, see the Find Articles tab.
If you are looking for a specific book, usually the simplest way is to simply search for the author and a few words from the title together:
- taylor "years of challenge"
The book you want should appear at the top or near the top of your search results. Without an author's name, you may have to be more specific, search for more words or phrases from the title:
- "years of challenge the commonwealth and the british"
- commonwealth "years of challenge"
If you have any questions or run into any problems, my contact info is on the right.
The basic search option from the Libraries homepage searches authors, titles, subjects, and abstracts and fulltext, if available, across most of the Libraries resources: books, scholarly articles, news sources, videos, etc.
How to build your basic search:
Use * to search for forms of a word: monarch* searches, monarch, monarchy, monarchical, etc.
Use "double quotes" to search as a phrase
Use AND, OR (in caps) to combine terms:
- AND focuses a search: "united kingdom" AND monarch* is more specific, retrieves fewer items than "united kingdom"
- OR broadens a search: "united kingdom" OR britain retrieves more items than "united kingdom" alone
Use parentheses to combine AND, OR: monarch* AND history AND ("united kingdom" OR britain)
Once you've completed your search, you'll see on the left a number of ways that you can refine, filter your search result. One of them is Resource Type. Click that and select Books. This will limit to both ebooks and print books.
QuickSearch may often deliver a rather overwhelming search result. Check out the other filters to gain more control over your search. Subject and Creation Date, for example, can be very useful.
From QuickSearch on the Libraries homepage, click Advanced Search on the right. Then, under Resource Type on the right, select Books.
As opposed to the default, the basic search, Advanced Search lets you search with more flexibility and precision by searching for words and/or phrases in specific "fields" (author, title, subject) in the records of the Libraries' books (or of a different Resource Type or across all of the types). For example, if you wanted to find books by Churchill on the Second World War:
- On the first line: Author ... is (exact) ... churchill, winston
- On the second line: Subject ... contains ... "world war, 1939-1945"
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: email@example.com or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.