Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

British History Research Guide

Welcome!

This guide is designed to help you get started with research in the history of the British Isles. Don't hesitate to get in touch if you have questions or need some additional guidance. My contact info is below the Citing & Managing Sources tab. Email is the best way to contact me initially. I'm always happy to meet in person, by phone, or online to discuss your research.

QuickSearch

QuickSearch is the simple search option at the top of the Libraries homepage. It provides quick access to the library catalog and many (but not all) of the databases. There are pros and cons. It searches a very wide range of resources in a variety of formats. But your search options are somewhat limited. And searching across so many resources can produce are very large, even overwhelming search result.

See Refining your Search in the box below. See also the Find Articles, etc. tab  to learn about searching in Historical Abstracts and other databases relevant to British history.

QuickSearch: Some Quick Tips

If you are looking for a specific book, article, etc. and you know the exact title, QuickSearch is usually the quickest way to find it. Simply type the first several words of the title in the search box, in "double quotes" to search as a phrase: "from corn laws to free trade".

You can also search for words and phrases in the millions of books, ebooks, articles, etc. indexed in QuickSearch.
- The asterisk is a wildcard, lets you look for different forms of a word: parliament* retrieves parliament, parliament's, parliamentary, etc.
- Use AND (in caps) to combine terms and search more narrowly. Searching parliament* AND "corn law*" is more specific than searching simply for parliament*
- Use OR (again, caps) to broaden a search by searching for alternative terms: "corn law*" OR tariff*
- If you're using AND and OR together, put the OR terms in parentheses so they are searched separately: parliament* AND history AND ("corn law*" OR tariff*)

In many cases, QuickSearch is searching in the full text of sources, so it's not uncommon to retrieve hundreds of thousands of results. See the box below on how to gain better control over your search result.

QuickSearch: Refining Your Search

Once you've completed your initial search, browse through the results. This may help you refine the search, perhaps suggest terms to add to the search.

To the left of the results are limits you can add to the search. Peer-Reviewed Journals, for example, is very useful. Under Resource Type, you can limit your search to books, articles, newspaper articles, etc. You can also limit by Subject, Creation Date, etc.

For additional search options, clicked Advanced Search in the upper right of the search results screen.

British History Collections in the Libraries

Rutgers University Libraries comprises over twenty libraries and centers in New Brunswick, Camden, and Newark, but the most substantial collection in British history is located in the Alexander Library on College Avenue Campus in New Brunswick. Special Collections and University Archives is also located in Alexander Library. In addition, there are significant resources for women's history in the Douglass Library on Douglass Campus in New Brunswick.

See the Find Books tab to learn how to have books delivered from on library to another.

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.