Africa
- Empire Online
- "A fulltext collection of essays and associated primary sources for the study and especially the teaching of the history of empires and empire building in the modern era.... Each section consists of three to five extended essays by a noted historian. Linked within each essay are PDFs of relevant primary documents, approximately 175 per section. The database focuses primarily on the British Empire." You can also search for specific terms, places, people, or events. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
- A database of primary source collections for the 19th Century. Collections include: Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, & Conquest (including Colonial, Foreign, and War Offices Papers on Africa; personal narratives of African exploration). Rutgers-restricted Access
- Internet African History Sourcebook
- Paul Halsall's (Fordham University) compilation of prmary texts.
- Horn of Africa Crisis
- Documents on the 1977-1978 conflict between Somalia and Ethiopia. From the Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars.
Document Collections
- Voices of the African American Experience
- Lionel C. Bascom. Westport, Greenwood Press, 2009. 3vols.
- Documents from about 1620 to 2008. Rutgers-restricted Access
- Jim Crow New York: A Documentary History of Race and Citizenship, 1777-1877 Rutgers-restricted Access
- Federal Records Pertaining to Brown v. Board of Education of Topeka, Kansas (1954)
- U.S. National Archives and Records Administration. Washington, DC, 2004
United States Civil Rights Era
- Civil Rights Digital Library
- Portal to digital collections documenting the struggle for racial equality. Emphasis on materials from the 1950s and 1960s, primarily in the South.
- The Long Civil Rights Movement: Works, Comments, and Links.
- “Publishing the Long Civil Rights Movement” Project at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.
- Civil Rights Collection.
- Some 27,000 mostly black and white images, the work of several photographers done largely in Mississippi, Louisiana, Alabama, and Georgia in the early to mid sixties. Includes a collection of photographs depicting Negative Responses to Civil Rights
Subject Guide
Natalie Borisovets
Contact:
185 University Avenue
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
Subjects: American Studies, Communication, Criminal Justice, History - Global & Eurasian, History - North America, Journalism & Media Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Literatures in English, New Jerseyana, Political Science, Social Work, Spanish & Portuguese Studies, Women's & Gender Studies