Databases
The following databases are available to search for journal articles, etc. You will be prompted to login with Rutgers NetID for remote access outside of Rutgers campus.
A complete list of all RBHS Library databases.
AccessMedicine is a resource that provides complete references and services for physicians, students, and health professionals who need immediate access to authoritative and current medical data.
The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions. Campbell is based on voluntary cooperation among researchers of a variety of backgrounds. Campbell's strategic and policy making body is the Steering Group. Campbell currently has several Coordinating Groups. The Coordinating Groups are responsible for the production, scientific merit, and relevance of our systematic reviews. They provide editorial services and support to review authors. Each Coordinating Group has two representatives on the Steering Group.
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers.
The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world's best medical research studies, and are recognized as the gold standard in evidence-based health care. Includes: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews -- Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials -- Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews -- Cochrane Methodology Register -- Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects -- Health Technology Assessment Database -- NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
A database of filtered, synopsized, evidence-based information, this integrated search engine allows you to simultaneously search multiple databases: EBM Guidelines; Daily POEMs; Cochrane Abstracts; Selected Practice Guidelines; Decision Support Calculators; H&P Calculators; Diagnostic Test Calculators; Derm Expert; E/M Coding; ICD-9 Lookup Tool. Content is downloadable for use with PocketPC and PalmOS handheld devices
Premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of the biomedical literature. 1950 - Current includes some full-text. 1950 - 1965 contains citations originally printed in hardcopy indexes.
PubMed provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources
Another evidence-based medicine database, SUMSearch selects the best resources for your question, formats your question for each resource, and makes additional searches based on results.
The TRIP Database is a resource for evidence-based medicine, allowing users to easily and rapidly identify the highest quality evidence from a wide range of sources.
Multimedia
- Image and Video CollectionsRutgers Health Sciences libraries's collection of image and video collections. Access to restricted resources for Rutgers off-campus users will require authentication using NetID.
- AnatomyTVanatomy.tv offers detailed 3D models of human anatomy that can be rotated, sectioned and stripped to different layers.
- Bates' Visual Guide to Physical ExaminationThe Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination video series provides “head to toe” and systems-based physical examination techniques. The videos, delivered via streaming video, cover adult, infant, child, and older adult patients. Each video may be viewed as a full volume,
- Medical Board Review ProgramsOnline Streaming Video Programs | CD/DVD Programs | BoardVitals | Audio Digest
- Medical Images and VideosAn extensive guide to medical image and video databases licensed by Rutgers University Libraries as well as a variety of open-access medical image and video resources.
- Visible BodyVisible Body is a 3D anatomy visualization database. The Libraries have access to 5 modules on the Visible Body platform. Each module is available both as a desktop site and a mobile app.
- VisualDxVisualDx is a diagnostic decision support system designed by clinicians to aid medical professionals in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases. It provides instant access to specialist knowledge at the point of care, merging medical images with concise clinical text. VisualDx displays images and key clinical information on all relevant diagnoses for a quick side-by-side comparison to the patient.
Guidelines and Reports
National Guideline Clearinghouse
NGC is an initiative of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. NGC was originally created by AHRQ in partnership with the American Medical Association and the American Association of Health Plans (now America's Health Insurance Plans).
U.S. Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF)
The USPSTF is an independent panel of non-Federal experts in prevention and evidence-based medicine and is composed of primary care providers. The USPSTF conducts scientific evidence reviews of a broad range of clinical preventive health care services and develops recommendations for primary care clinicians and health systems. These recommendations are published in the form of "Recommendation Statements."
AHRQ Clinical Guidelines and Recommendations
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. As 1 of 12 agencies within the Department of Health and Human Services, AHRQ supports research that helps people make more informed decisions and improves the quality of health care services. AHRQ was formerly known as the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research.
Finding What Works in Health Care: Standards for Systematic Reviews by ISBN: 9780309164252Publication Date: 2011-07-20Report from the Institute of Medicine; March 2011 (E-Book).
W84.3 F494 2011 Reference
