Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Afro-Latinidad: Archival Collections

FBI Files

FBI Files on Puerto Ricans
"An educational project of the Center for Puerto Rican Studies. It contains formerly secret files produced by the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) from the 1930s to the 1990s. The files document FBI surveillance activities and counter-intelligence operations that targeted Puerto Rican organizations and individuals."

Archival Databases/Guides

ArchiveGrid
Index to archival collection descriptions and finding aids. Rutgers-restricted Access
Worldcat
Union catalog of over 179 million bibliographic records for titles owned by libraries that participate in/contribute to OCLC. As part of "Advanced Search" allows you to limit your search to "archival materials". Rutgers-restricted Access

Archival Collections

The Newark Archives Project
The Newark Archives Project is creating detailed descriptions of primary materials relating to Newark that are available in repositories in Newark and elsewhere. Includes descriptions of collections relating to ethnic groups and organizations in the Newark area.
New Jersey Hispanic Research & Information Center
Growing collection at the Newark Public Library. Includes the Latino Oral History Collection and the Puerto Rican Community Archives.
Centro: The Center for Puerto Rican Studies Libary & Archives (Hunter College)
"The Centro Library and Archives is devoted to collecting, preserving and providing access to resources documenting the history and culture of Puerto Ricans." Guide to Archives Collection
CUNY Dominican Studies Institute Dominican Archives
"The holdings of the Archives comprise 70 collections with approximately 600 cubic feet of archival materials relating to the experience and contributions of the Dominican population in the United States." Major Collections
Survey of Archives of Latino and Latin American Art
"Conducted from September 2003 to June 2006 by The Museum of Modern Art Library, this project aimed to identify and inventory the archives of New York institutions that have supported and showcased Latino and Latin American artists, and to establish a network of repositories."
Museum Resources: Latino Museums and Museums with Latino Collections
Listings by state. From the Smithsonian Latino Center.

Digital Collections

Cuban Heritage Collection (CHC) Digital Collections
"Digital collections with digital manuscripts, photographs, letters, maps and other resources held in the University of Miami Libraries Cuban Heritage Collection."
Latino Cultural Heritage Digital Archives
Digital collections from California State University, Northridege.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.