Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Premier
Covers a wide range of academic areas including arts, business, communication, education, humanities, language and linguistics, literature, sciences, social sciences, technology and women's studies
Click this link for general tips on searching the databases below using "AND, OR, NOT." (Boolean Logic)
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
CINAHL provides comprehensive coverage of the nursing and allied health journal literature. English language publications in nursing and allied health are indexed completely. In addition to journals, CINAHL includes citations for nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, health related books, educational software, and the publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Journals in the related subjects of consumer health, alternate/complementary medicine, biomedicine, and health sciences librarianship are indexed selectively. CINAHL offers cited reference searching from 1994 to the present. The pool of journal titles from which these articles are drawn currently numbers 1,200.
Focusing on high quality evidence to support health care providers in their clinical decision making, the Cochrane Library includes 6 databases which may be searched as a group or individually. The primary resource, the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, includes more than 4,650 reviews and 2,015 protocols which have been prepared by a highly credentialed group to determine if an intervention for a specific disease or other problem is effective. The reviews include a summary of research results from random controlled trials, the group's meta-analysis, links to references, and MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing, The other databases include Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, a database of quality assessments and review summaries not conducted by Cochrane, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, the world's largest directory of random controlled trials with journal article citations in the entries, Cochrane Methodology Register, a bibliography of books an
Disease and drug information summaries from a reliable Internet database
Essential Evidence Plus
A database of filtered, synopsized, evidence-based information, this integrated search engine allows you to simultaneously search multiple databases: EBM Guidelines; Daily POEMs; Cochrane Abstracts; Selected Practice Guidelines; Decision Support Calculators; H&P Calculators; Diagnostic Test Calculators; Derm Expert; E/M Coding; ICD-9 Lookup Tool. Content is downloadable for use with PocketPC and PalmOS handheld devices. Available for use on computers via the Web or when downloaded to a Smartphone. Users may create a profile and have InfoPOEMs (Patient Oriented Evidence that Matters) sent via e-mail).
A web and smart phone-enabled clinical information system that provides continuously updated, evidence-based guidance on the latest in patient evaluation, diagnosis, and management. Designed for rapid access at the point of patient care. You may also access FIRSTConsult by logging in to your MD Consult account and clicking on the FIRSTConsult logo in the upper right hand corner of the page.
Google Scholar searches scholarly literature and includes peer-reviewed papers, dissertations, book citations, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from a variety of content providers. Sources of material include academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and open access publishers. Some content is available in full text.
When searching Google Scholar on campus, full text resources that are available from Rutgers University Libraries-subscribed databases or electronic journals will be automatically accessible. If you are unable to access the full text, please check the . It is possible that the Libraries may own the material identified in Google Scholar.
Health Reference Center Academic
A collection of general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, reference books and pamphlets. Includes some full-text articles.
Ovid Healthstar is comprised of data from the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) MEDLINE and former Healthstar databases. It contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery. The following topics are included: evaluation of patient outcomes; effectiveness of procedures, programs, products, services and processes; administration and planning of health facilities, services and manpower; health insurance; health policy; health services research; health economics and financial management; laws and regulation; personnel administration; quality assurance; licensure; and accreditation.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
A collection of general interest health and fitness magazines, medical and professional periodicals, definitions, and directories. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases. Includes some full-text.
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, as well as coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. The database contains more than 12 million citations from 4,600 biomedical journals published in the United States and other countries.
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
The Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database contains over 1,000 evidence-based monographs on natural medicines. Compiled by clinicians, these monographs provide in depth information for each natural medicine product. This information, appropriate for patient care situations, includes: common, as well as colloquial names, brand names, scientific names, product uses, safety, effectiveness, description of known constituents, pharmacological actions, adverse reactions, possible interactions, any influence on nutrient levels and depletion in the body after use of the substance(s), dosage and administration, and reference citations. Also available in this database is a clinical management series on topics such as: obesity, depression, colds and flu, osteoporosis, menopause, chronic fatigue syndrome and others. Both basic and advanced searching is available.
NORD's Rare Disease Database (National Organization for Rare Disorders)
This database from the National Organization for Rare Disorders contains more than 1,200 reports on rare disorders. (Approximately 7,000 considered to be rare have been reported in the U.S.) These reports include information on symptoms, causes, treatments, clinical trials, and sources of help, such as patient support groups and voluntary health organizations. Unlimited access to reports, articles requires an additional fee.
Proquest Social Science Journals
The ProQuest Social Sciences Collection abstracts and indexes over 10,000 titles in the social sciences, while also providing access to over 1,800 scholarly journals. A majority of the titles are published outside of the United States. This resource is both international and interdisciplinary in scope.
PsycINFO (including PsycARTICLES)
PsycINFO is an electronic bibliographic database that provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. PsycINFO includes indexing for more than 2000 journals, 98% of which are peer-reviewed. Online access to Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms is included.P
PubMed, available via the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Entrez life sciences retrieval system, was developed at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the U.S. National Institutues of Health (NIH). Entrez is the text-based search and retrieval system used at NCBI for services including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, OMIM, and many others. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE. PubMed coverage also includes the following:
The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE.
Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing.
Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review
REHABDATA National Rehabilitation Information Center
REHABDATA, produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present.