Health Policy
Books
Policy and Politics in Nursing and Healthcare - Revised Reprint by
Featuring analysis of healthcare issues and first-person stories, Policy & Politics in Nursing and Health Care helps you develop skills in influencing policy in today's changing health care environment. 145 expert contributors present a wide range of topics in policies and politics, providing a more complete background than can be found in any other policy textbook on the market. Discussions include the latest updates on conflict management, health economics, lobbying, the use of media, and working with communities for change. The revised reprint includes a new appendix with coverage of the new Affordable Care Act. With these insights and strategies, you'll be prepared to play a leadership role in the four spheres in which nurses are politically active: the workplace, government, professional organizations, and the community. Up-to-date coverage on the Affordable Care Act in an Appendix new to the revised reprint. Comprehensive coverage of healthcare policies and politics provides a broader understanding of nursing leadership and political activism, as well as complex business and financial issues. Expert authors make up a virtual Nursing Who's Who in healthcare policy, sharing information and personal perspectives gained in the crafting of healthcare policy. Taking Action essays include personal accounts of how nurses have participated in politics and what they have accomplished. The latest information and perspectives are provided by nursing leaders who influenced health care reform with the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010.
ISBN: 9780323242417Publication Date: 2013-09-23
Using Health Policy in Nursing Practice by
This book is part of the Transforming Nursing Practice series, written specifically to support nursing students on the new degree programme. Health policy can appear complex and remote from nursing practice. This book demystifies health policy and helps you understand how policy decisions relate to your daily practice. Through the exploration of selected hot topics, such as patient involvement and dignity, the book helps you to consider how not only to use policy in practice, but also how to use practice to influence policy. Patient narratives and case studies are followed through each chapter to show how policy issues can impact on real life care. The book also shows how you can use an understanding of policy to develop your career.
Call Number: XX(5158121.1) Paul Robeson Library CamdenISBN: 9781446256459Publication Date: 2013-05-17
People-Centred Public Health by
People-Centred Public Health examines how members of the public can be involved in delivering health improvement through volunteering. Drawing on a study of lay engagement in public health and using case studies and real-life examples, this timely book provides a comprehensive and accessible overview of policy, practice, and research in this area. In an economic and political climate where there is renewed interest in the role of the citizen, the authors challenge old orthodoxies in public health and build a coherent argument for radical change in the way public agencies support lay action.
Call Number: RA393.S688 2013 Paul Robeson Library CamdenISBN: 9781447305316Publication Date: 2013-02-15
Health Policy by
Now in its Sixth Edition, this best-selling health policy text is updated with a collection of new articles on various health policies. This compilation of articles focuses on the new healthcare environment, healthcare reform, trends in healthcare delivery, and quality and safety. Each chapter contains multiple article excerpts on that chapter's topic, providing various perspectives on the most pressing topics the healthcare system faces. A brand new chapter is included, titled Health Policy and Corporate Influences.
Call Number: RA395.A3H42554 2013 LSM Busch CampusISBN: 9780763797881Publication Date: 2012-08-24
Books
Health Promotion Throughout the Life Span by
With the advent of health care reform and an emphasis on reducing health care costs, health promotion and disease prevention is a priority in nursing care. Be prepared with Health Promotion Throughout the Life Span, 8th Edition, your comprehensive guide to major health promotion concepts. Featuring practical guidance - including boxes on diversity awareness, evidence-based practice, innovative practice, hot topics, and quality and safety as well as case studies and care plans - our experienced authors give you all the tools you need to stay current on the latest research and trends in health promotion. Extensive coverage of growth and development throughout the lifespan emphasizes the unique problems and health promotion needs of each age and stage of development. Separate chapters on each population - group, individual, family, and community - stress the unique issues faced when providing care to each group. Evidence-Based Practice boxes;emphasize current research efforts and opportunities in health promotion. Hot Topics and Innovative Practice boxes engage students' interest by introducing significant issues, trends, and creative programs and projects in health promotion practice. Diversity Awareness boxes address various cultural perspectives and provide important information;that needs to be considered in planning care. Case studies and care plans present realistic situations that challenge students to reflect upon important health promotion concepts. Think About It;boxes dig deeper into the chapter topic and encourage critical thinking. Numerous pedagogical features such as objectives, key terms, and textual summaries highlight the most important concepts and terms in each chapter.
Call Number: WY100 H434p 2014 George F.Smith LibraryISBN: 9780323091411Publication Date: 2013-09-27- Implementation Research in Health by Interest in implementation research is growing, largely in recognition of the contribution it can make to maximizing the beneficial impact of health interventions. As a relatively new and, until recently, rather neglected field within the health sector, implementation research is something of an unknown quantity for many. There is therefore a need for greater clarity about what exactly implementation research is, and what it can offer. This Guide is designed to provide that clarity.Call Number: E-Book OnlineISBN: 9789241506212Publication Date: 2014-04-01
Best Care at Lower Cost by
America's health care system has become too complex and costly to continue business as usual. Best Care at Lower Cost explains that inefficiencies, an overwhelming amount of data, and other economic and quality barriers hinder progress in improving health and threaten the nation's economic stability and global competitiveness. According to this report, the knowledge and tools exist to put the health system on the right course to achieve continuous improvement and better quality care at a lower cost. The costs of the system's current inefficiency underscore the urgent need for a systemwide transformation. About 30 percent of health spending in 2009--roughly $750 billion--was wasted on unnecessary services, excessive administrative costs, fraud, and other problems. Moreover, inefficiencies cause needless suffering. By one estimate, roughly 75,000 deaths might have been averted in 2005 if every state had delivered care at the quality level of the best performing state. This report states that the way health care providers currently train, practice, and learn new information cannot keep pace with the flood of research discoveries and technological advances. About 75 million Americans have more than one chronic condition, requiring coordination among multiple specialists and therapies, which can increase the potential for miscommunication, misdiagnosis, potentially conflicting interventions, and dangerous drug interactions. Best Care at Lower Cost emphasizes that a better us
Call Number: RA395.A3B475 2013 Paul Robeson Library CamdenISBN: 9780309260732Publication Date: 2013-05-24
Routledge Handbook of Global Public Health by
At the beginning of the twenty-first century, key public health issues and challenges have taken centre stage. They range from arsenic in drinking water to asthma among children and adults; from the re-emergence of cholera, to increasing cancer rates and other chronic disease; from AIDS to malaria and hepatitis; from the crises faced by displaced or refugee populations to the new challenges that have emerged for reproductive health and rights. Like most aspects of contemporary life, these problems have been impacted by globalization. The issues that confront us are being shaped by evolving processes such as the growth of inequalities between the rich and the poor in countries around the world, the globalization of trade and commerce, new patterns of travel and migration, as well as a reduction in resources for the development and sustainability of public health infrastructures. The Routledge Handbook of Global Public Healthexplores this context and addresses both the emerging issues and conceptualizations of the notion of global health, along with expanding upon and highlighting the critical priorities in this rapidly evolving field. It will be organized in ten main sections. The topics covered include: The transition from international to global health Structural inequalities and global public health Ecological transformation and environmental health in the global system Population and reproductive health Conflict, violence and emergencies in global public health Global public health policy and practice Global public health and development Global mental health Global access to essential medicines Health systems, health capacity, and the politics of global public health This comprehensive handbook will provide an authoritative overview for students, practitioners, researchers, and policy makers working in or concerned with public health around the globe.
ISBN: 9780415778480Publication Date: 2011-02-01
