Health Policy

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. With a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals, the database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

CINAHL provides comprehensive coverage of the nursing and allied health journal literature. English language publications in nursing and allied health are indexed completely. In addition to journals, CINAHL includes citations for nursing dissertations, conference proceedings, health related books, educational software, and the publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing. Journals in the related subjects of consumer health, alternate/complementary medicine, biomedicine, and health sciences librarianship are indexed selectively. CINAHL offers cited reference searching from 1994 to the present. The pool of journal titles from which these articles are drawn currently numbers 1,200. Full-text/full image items include nurse practice acts, standards of practice, drug records, research instruments,critical paths, clinical trials, and the contents of 72 journals including state and regional nursing association titles

Focusing on high quality evidence to support health care providers in their clinical decision making, the Cochrane Library includes 6 databases which may be searched as a group or individually. The primary resource, the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, includes more than 4,650 reviews and 2,015 protocols which have been prepared by a highly credentialed group to determine if an intervention for a specific disease or other problem is effective. The reviews include a summary of research results from random controlled trials, the group's meta-analysis, links to references, and MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing

Dissertations & Theses includes records for foreign dissertations beginning in the year 1637 and U.S. dissertations beginning with the first one, accepted in 1861. The database incorporates ongoing additions for dissertations and theses accepted as recently as last semester. Titles available as native or image PDF formats include free twenty-four page previews. For titles that are available full text from ProQuest, an "Order a Copy" link provides information about ordering options. Many of the foreign dissertations are available from the Center for Research Libraries. Rutgers users have free access to the full text (PDF format) of Doctoral dissertations completed at Rutgers University since 1997. A small number of Rutgers dissertations from previous years are also available full text.

issertations & Theses @ Rutgers University is a subset of the larger Dissertations & Theses database. Covering all disciplines, the database incorporates ongoing additions for Rutgers dissertations and theses accepted as recently as last semester. Titles available as native or image PDF formats include twenty-four page previews. For titles that are available full text from ProQuest, an "Order a Copy" link provides information about ordering options.Rutgers users have free access to the full text (PDF format) of most dissertations and theses completed at Rutgers University since 1997. A small number of titles from previous years are also available full text.

Ovid Healthstar is comprised of data from the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) MEDLINE and former Healthstar databases. It contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. It focuses on both the clinical and non-clinical aspects of health care delivery. The following topics are included: evaluation of patient outcomes; effectiveness of procedures, programs, products, services and processes; administration and planning of health facilities, services and manpower; health insurance; health policy; health services research; health economics and financial management; laws and regulation; personnel administration; quality assurance; licensure; and accreditation

Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, the MEDLINE database is widely recognized as the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE provides information from the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, as well as coverage in the areas of allied health, biological and physical sciences, humanities and information science as they relate to medicine and health care, communication disorders, population biology, and reproductive biology. The database contains more than 25 million citations from 5,200 biomedical journals published in the United States and other countries.

The ProQuest Social Sciences Collection abstracts and indexes over 10,000 titles in the social sciences, while also providing access to over 1,800 scholarly journals. A majority of the titles are published outside of the United States. This resource is both international and interdisciplinary in scope.

PubMed, available via the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Entrez life sciences retrieval system, was developed at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the U.S. National Institutues of Health (NIH). Entrez is the text-based search and retrieval system used at NCBI for services including PubMed, Nucleotide and Protein Sequences, Protein Structures, Complete Genomes, Taxonomy, OMIM, and many others. PubMed provides access to bibliographic information that includes MEDLINE.