Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching for Nursing Theory & Theorists
Tips for searching in CINAHL:
Using the CINAHL Headings, do a broad subject search for Nursing Theory or Theoretical Nursing Models.
If you have a specific theory in mind, using the CINAHL Headings, select a specific model or theory such as Roy Adaptation Model orWatson's Theory of Caring.
Add a keyword to the search on your topic of interest. So if you are looking for articles on Orem's theory and patients with cancer, combine the CINAHL Headings ofOrem Self-Care Model and Cancer Patients.
Do an author search for articles written by a specific theorist.
Suggested databases to use:
Nursing Theory Books
Transcultural Nursing Theory and Models by
Call Number: RT86.54.S24 2012 John Cotton Dana Library
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
""Transcultural Nursing Theory and Models: Application in Nursing Education, Practice, and Administration" is a must read for the nurse currently practicing. National and global changes in demographics, a changing global economy, have further dramatized the need for culturally competent nurses. I found this book to be what I had hoped for and more related to my understanding of the concept of transcultural nursing (TCN)
Perspectives on Nursing Theory by
Call Number: WY86 P467 2008 Smith Library
Publication Date: 2003-07-03
This invaluable resource presents more than 60 of the most widely read and frequently cited articles that reflect seminal, current, and futurist thinking and perspectives on nursing theory. Classic and contemporary articles from many of the great leaders in nursing over the past forty years serve to clarify and amplify the historic and current debates in the field. Forty new articles on the cutting-edge of today's current and future trends have replaced older articles in this Fourth Edition. The content has been reorganized by chronology and theme for ease-of-use and quick reference.
A History of American Nursing by
Call Number: RT4.J83 2014 Paul Robeson library Camden
Publication Date: 2013-03-08
A History of American Nursing, Second Edition provides a historical overview essential to developing a complete understanding of the nursing profession. For each key era of U.S. history, nursing is examined in the context of the sociopolitical climate of the day, the image of nurses, nursing education, advances in practice, war and its effect on nursing, licensure and regulation, and nursing research and its implications. From early nursing to Nightingale's influence, through two world wars to today, this text engages students in an exploration of nursing's past while connecting it to nursing practice in the present.A History of American Nursing, Second Edition informs and empowers today's student nurses as they help to create the future of nursing.* Completely expanded and updated art program, including images from the Women In Military Service For America Memorial Foundation and artist Lou Everett, a nurse educator* New feature: Historical Happenings - short vignettes throughout each chapter that highlight a relevant medical/nursing advance and/or historical event from a particular era* Updates to references, key people, discussion questions, and MeSH terms
Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research by
Call Number: WY13 P888d 2011 George F. Smith Library
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
The fourth edition of this classic dictionary for understanding traditional and new concepts in nursing theory and research encompasses the considerable changes that have occurred in the clinical health sciences since the previous edition was published. It includes updates and new references for entries from the previous edition, and information related to developing areas of research and practice. New content that reflects nursing priorities in research and theory development in the current interprofessional health care environment is featured. This book remains an invaluable reference for nursing students, researchers, theoreticians, and scholars.Key features: Includes new and updated entries on developing national and international research trends, such as translational research, implementation science, and comparative effectiveness research Contains content related to high-priority research areas, such as biological and biobehavioral research, outcomes research, health services research, and participatory models of research Presents cross-references and citations from relevant multinational nursing and interdisciplinary literature sources Incorporates information based on the scrutiny of students and faculty to ensure utmost clarity
Nursing Theorists and Their Work by
Call Number: WY86 N974 2010 George F. Smith library Reserve
Publication Date: 2009-09-28
The most comprehensive of its kind, this classic resource in the field of nursing theory provides an in-depth look at 49 theorists of historical, international, and significant importance. Each chapter features a clear, consistent presentation of a key nursing philosophy or theory. Case studies and critical thinking activities help bridge the gap between theory and application. A case study at the end of each theorist chapter puts the theory into a larger perspective, helping you understand how the information can be applied to practice. A Major Concepts & Definitions box in each theorist chapter outlines and summarizes the theory's most significant ideas and clarifies content-specific vocabulary. Each theorist chapter concludes with an extensive bibliography outlining numerous primary and secondary sources of information ideal for research projects. Critical Thinking Activities at the end of each theorist chapter challenge you to process the theory presented and apply it to personal and hypothetical practice situations. Introductory chapters provide you with a strong foundation in the history and philosophy of science, logical reasoning, and the theory development process. Diagrams for theories help you visualize and better understand inherently abstract concepts. Each theorist chapter is written by a scholar specializing in that particular theorist's work - often an individual who has worked closely with the theorist. Most chapters have been reviewed and edited by the theorist for currency and accuracy, further validating the accounts set forth in the text. Theorist birth (and if applicable, death) dates help you place each individual into a time context. A new chapter introduces the theorist Afaf Meleis and covers her Transition Theory that has helped shape the theoretical development of nursing. Points for further study at the end of each chapter direct you to assets available for additional information. Need to know information is highlighted in at-a-glance summary boxes throughout to help you quickly review key concepts. Personal quotes from the theorists help you gain insight and make each complex theory more memorable. Updated references include only published works to ensure accuracy and credibility.
Nursing Theories and Nursing Practice by
Call Number: WY86 N974t 2006 George F. Smith Library (Reserve)
Publication Date: 2005-09-26
Learn to explore and apply nursing theories with chapters written by the actual theorists themselves! This completely revised and updated edition also includes chapters written by practicing nurses that offer real world experience, discussing how they apply nursing theories in their day-to-day practice. This valuable text will help you develop critical thinking skills and improve the ways in which you practice nursing. Middle-Range Nursing Theories:The Nurses.Info website provides a full listing of Middle-Range Nursing Theories from Evelyn Adam to Janet B. Younger. Each theory listed provides details about the theorist, a brief description of the theory itself, and publications of interest.