Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
The style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, this updated "Publication Manual" provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias.
APA (Official) Website
The official APA website offers tutorials, FAQs and other helpful resources.
This tutorial is designed for those who have no previous knowledge of APA Style®. It shows users how to structure and format their work, recommends ways to reduce bias in language, identifies how to avoid charges of plagiarism, shows how to cite references in text, and provides selected reference examples.
OWL Purdue University APA Style Guide
Use the Purdue University OWL (Online Writing Lab) APA Style Guide to learn how to manually create references in APA style for your papers.
Rutgers Research Guide
Citing Sources of Information
Northeast Institute for Evidence Synthesis and Translation
Northeast Institute for Evidence Synthesis and Translation (NEST) at Rutgers-School of Nursing
An International Collaboration with the Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) The Northeast Institute for Evidence Synthesis and Translation was established in 2004 as a collaborating center with the Joanna Briggs Institute.
The pool of journal titles from which these articles are drawn currently numbers 1,200. Full-text/full image items include nurse practice acts, standards of practice, drug records, research instruments,critical paths, clinical trials, and the contents of 72 journals including state and regional nursing association titles. When searching CINAHL for instruments, limit "Publication Type" to: Questionnaire/Scale & Research Instruments.
The following are places to identify research instruments. Identifying an instrument is generally just the beginning of the process - you will next need to locate the actual instrument and gain any needed permissions to use the instruments. This is sometimes an easy process and sometimes a difficult one.
Note: When searching CINAHL for instruments, limit "Publication Type" to: Questionnaire/Scale & Research Instruments.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
Health and Psychosocial Instruments features material on unpublished measurement tools discussed in the journal literature. This material includes questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques. Over 2/3 of the tools are in medical and nursing areas such as pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation. In addition to medical measurement instruments, HaPI presents information about tests used in medically related disciplines including psychology, social work, occupational therapy, physical therapy, and speech and hearing therapy.
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY)
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) online provides test reviews and evaluative information on more than 3000 testing instruments. The MMY series contains information for evaluating test products in psychology, education, business and leadership. Please note that the MMY does not include the full text of actual tests, but evaluative material (reviews) only. All MMY reviews not only contain descriptive information such as purpose, publisher and pricing but also an edited review written by a leading expert in the content area. Tests that are reviewed in MMY are all commercially available, and are published in English. The online MMY is similar to the print Mental Measurements Yearbook/Tests in Print series that is held in the Rutgers Libraries collections (see the catalog for details). MMY online is produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska. MMY is accessed on the EBSCOhost platform and includes the MMY Archive, providing all yearbooks from the first edition
The Writing Center
The RBHS Writing Center provides writing tutoring to RBHS undergraduate and graduate students. Professional tutors will offer support in critical reading, research, and writing skills. Both in-person and virtual sessions are available by appointment.
The Writing Center is located in the Rutgers University George F. Smith Library of the Health Sciences, in the library’s current e-classroom M906. The library is located at 30 Twelfth Avenue, Newark, NJ.
Spring 2020 Tutoring
January 7 - May 22, 2020
Mondays: 2:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Tuesdays: 11:30 am - 4:30 pm
Thursdays: 2:30 pm - 4:30 pm
Making an Appointment
Email us at email@example.com
Call us at 973-972-0661
Stop in at our front desk (Room M906):
Mondays: 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Wednesdays: 11:30 am - 2:30 pm
EndNote is a program that helps users quickly collect and organize references from online sources (or elsewhere), create a searchable personal database, find and cite these references while writing, create bibliographies formatted in their style of choice, and manage PDF files. The Libraries are licensed to provide access to EndNote for students, faculty, and staff of all Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences (RBHS) schools and units.
An EndNote LibGuide is also available to assist you in learning this useful piece of software. http://libguides.rutgers.edu/_endnote
This provides link to short Youtube videos, tutorials and users manuals. The Smith Library also offers workshops on using EndNote. You can register for a class by clicking HERE.
If you are a distance learner and are having difficulty downloading EndNote, please contact 972-972-9551 or 973-972-4358 in Newark, 732-235-7604 in New Brunswick for further instructions.
Evidence Based Nursing Resources
AHRQ Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
US Department of Health and Human Services; Evidence Based Reports
BMJ Clinical Evidence
BMJ Clinical Evidence: The international source of the best available evidence for effective health care
Joanna Briggs Institute for Evidence Based Practice Database
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database is published by the Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI). The Institute is widely regarded as one of the world’s leading providers of evidence–based information from across the globe, as well as the tools that help healthcare professionals implement an effective evidence–based practice program and provide the best possible patient care.
JBI and its collaborating entities, which are based at the University of Adelaide, South Australia, promote and support the synthesis, transfer and utilization of evidence through identifying feasible, appropriate, meaningful and effective healthcare practices to assist in the improvement of healthcare outcomes globally.
Evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies
NIH Consensus Development Program
The National Institutes of Health (NIH) Consensus Development Program organizes major conferences that produce evidence-based consensus statements addressing controversial issues in medicine important to health care providers, patients, and the general public. The site provides access to all NIH Consensus Statements and NIH State-of-the-Science Statement
Resource for consumers from the National Library of Medicine that provides both easy-to-read summaries of clinical effectiveness research, as well full technical reports.