Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

Guide to Chinese Historiagraphy and Methods: Online Databases

Western-languages

Academic Search Premier: a multi-disciplinary database with citations & abstracts from 4,700+ scholarly journals with full text for more.

Bibliography of Asian Studies: the major index for all subjects related to East, Southeast, and South Asia from 1971 to the present.

Dissertations and Theses (ProQuest): indexes dissertations and masters' theses from most North American graduate schools as well as some European universities from 1861 to the present.

EEBO - Early English Books Online : digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

Google Books: search for a book and look at: About This Book -- you'll be surprised to see what you find.

Google Scholar: not just Google — this is full of scholarly articles using Google's search system, with the bonus that if you enter via this link Google recognizes you as a Rutgers searcher... so you get full-text for free.

JSTOR: the complete digitized back runs of core scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues, some dating as far back as the 1600s. • MasterFILE Premier (EBSCOhost): full text of 2,000 journals in a broad range of disciplines including general reference, business, education, health, general science, and multi-cultural issues. 

Maney Chinese Studies: provides access to eight journals in Chinese studies.

Project Muse: full-text database providing online access to many specialized humanities journals.

Web of Science: a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences, social sciences and arts. You can search the databases for articles that cite a known author or work.

Chinese

China Academic Journals (CNKI 中国知网): searching and full text of PRC journal articles, many back to first date of publication, and selected newspaper articles from 2000. Journal database includes medical series. Citation searching for conference papers and dissertations/theses; full text may be obtained by contacting Harvard-Yenching Library. 

HKInChip 香港中文期刊論文索引: Citation index to Chinese and Chinese-English journals published in Hong Kong from 1954.

PerioPath: Index to Taiwan Periodical Literature 台灣期刊論文索引影像系統 : searching and some full text for post-1971 journal articles held by the National Central Library in Taiwan.

Japanese

CiNii (NII 論文情報ナビゲーター): Citation searching of Japanese academic journals with limited free full text. For more information on maximizing full text, please see Digital Resources for Japanese Studies.

• JAIRO: Japanese Institutional Repositories OnlineAn electronic archive system installed for research institutions, such as universities, to collect, accumulate, and store their intellectual products in an electronic form and disclose them for free. It is one of digital content distribution platform of the the National Institute of Informatics (NII). 

Tōyōgaku bunken ruimoku kensaku 東洋学文献類目検索: For searching Japanese articles in Chinese studies.

Zasshi kiji sakuin 雑誌記事索引: Periodical index of the National Diet Library; coverage 1948 on.

Korean

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.