Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

English 102 (50:350:102): Finding Articles

For Rutgers - Camden English 102 classes (50:350:102)

Searching Tips

Searching Tips:

Start out with general ideas/terms and then work on narrowing your search.

Use keywords that describe concepts in your question rather than full sentences.

Determine the correct SUBJECT heading for more specific searching. 

Pay attention to what is available in the database you are searching (full text?, years available, etc.)

Let the Database help you!

If you are not finding anything, or you are finding too much, change your search and ask for help.

Suggested Databases

Finding Articles

The libraries have many different indexes and databases with access to full text articles and citations. You can search these databases for articles on your topic.  On our website, click on the Articles tab for access to the links below.

Both Popular and Scholarly Articles are available. What is the difference?

Articles that are not available electronically may be available for Article Delivery.

Articles can not be found by searching in the Library Catalog.

Specific Journal Titles can be located in the Library Catalog by searching for Periodical Title (keyword or begins with).

Citations can be located using Citation Linker (link below)

You can also check the library holdings on the Electronic Journal List (link below)

Begin your search with the frequently used general databases (first link under Articles tab) or the suggested databases below. More specific subject databases can be found on the complete list of Indexes and Databases (link below).

Business Librarian and Information Literacy Coordinator

Zara Wilkinson's picture
Zara Wilkinson
Contact:
Paul Robeson Library
300 North 4th Street
Camden, NJ 08102
856-225-2831
Website

Getting to the Article

We subscribe to thousands of journals, but not to all of the journals you may find cited in our electronic databases. In certain databases, full text is available via PDF or HTML links. However, in many of our databases you will need to select the button.  This is a program overlaid on our databases that tries to match the citation to the RUL holdings.

  • Ideally, when you the select thebutton, you will see a link to full text.
    • If you do not see a link to full text, click on the “Search the library’s catalog by title (or ISSN) link” which will take you to the record in the Library Catalog for the journal title if available in the Rutgers libraries. The Library Catalog record will note the availability of the journal online in the Electronic access line.   The Library Catalog also indicates whether the library system owns the periodical in paper or in other formats.  
    • If Rutgers University Libraries has the article but not electronically, you can request a free, electronic copy (PDF) by clicking on the Article Delivery  button in the Library Catalog record.
    •  If Rutgers University Libraries does not have the article at all, you can request a copy through Interlibrary Loan.  Requested articles are delivered electronically as PDF files. . The turnaround time is generally 1-3 days.  Click on  Interlibray Loan and Article Delivery Services on the home page.

    Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.