Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Streaming Video is available through the library databases. NETID Login required.
Academic Video Online
Academic Video Online is a collection of 21 cross-searchable video databases covering a broad range of disciplines. Included are more than 13,000 videos in several fields.
Area Studies Video Online
Area Studies Video Online covers Middle Eastern studies, Latin American, African, Eastern European, Asian, and other global communities. The collection includes films focused on cultural, political, and socioeconomic issues and provides an interdisciplinary resource for every region of the world.
Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video
Criminal Justice and Public Safety in Video is a compilation of documentaries, training videos, and interviews depicting the theoretical principles and practical application of criminal justice and emergency response. Among the subject areas covered are criminal law and procedure, juvenile justice, substance abuse/re-entry, forensics, law enforcement, criminology, courts and adjudication, victimology, corrections, and violent crime. The database includes international coverage, allowing for a comparative view of criminal justice systems.
Ethnic Studies Video Online
Ethnic Studies Video Online includes documentary films on the subject of Native American Studies, Chicano Studies and African American Studies, among others, focusing on issues of social justice in marginalized communities.
Ethnographic Video Online
Ethnographic Video Online covers hundreds of films from several regions of the world. As the name indicates, it offers videos broadly related to the social sciences disciplines and on themes such as language and culture, kinesthetics, body language, food and foraging, cooking, economic systems, social stratification and status, caste systems and slavery, male and female roles, kinship and families, political organization, conflict and conflict resolution, religion and magic, music and the arts, culture and personality, and sex, gender, and family roles. It offers semantic based indexing of the videos and searchable transcripts that correspond to the video. You can browse and search to compare footage by theme, cultural group, geographic location, date of filming, filmmaker, type of behavior, etc.
Psychology Video Online
Psychology Video Online brings together key titles in this immensely popular field of study, growing to have 500 titles at completion. With documentaries, interviews, case studies, and psychological experiments, users will find this collection an invaluable resource for better understanding the intricacies and peculiarities of human behavior. The collection will appeal to users across the academic spectrum and will be used by students and faculty in disciplines well beyond psychology - business, sociology, economics, literature, philosophy, communications, health, social work, and other areas. Topics covered include addiction, group psychology, feminist psychology, family psychology, children and adolescent psychology, depression, obsessive compulsive disorder, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, and many others.