Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
rutgers library logo dark

Census Resources - Federal

A brief guide to Federal census data.

1940 and 1950 Census Tracts - All States

1960 New Jersey

PHC(1): Census Tracts

Coverage
Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton, PA-NJ; Atlantic City; Jersey City; Middlesex Co.; Newark; Paterson-Clifton-Passaic; Philadelphia, PA-NJ; Somerset Co.; Trenton; Wilmington, DE-NJ

Location of Volumes at Alexander Library
NJ volumes shelved with other geographical areas in the main Census Area.

Location of Maps at Alexander Library
Kept inside volumes

HC(3): City Blocks

Coverage
Atlantic City; Bayonne; Camden; Clifton; East Orange; Edison Township; Elizabeth; Englewood; Irvington; Jersey City; Kearney; Montclair; Newark; North Arlington; Passaic; Paterson; Trenton; Union City

Location of Volumes at Alexander Library
NJ volumes shelved with other geographical areas in the main Census Area.

Location of Maps at Alexander Library
Kept in pockets of each block statistics volume

1970 New Jersey

PHC(1): Census Tracts

Coverage
Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton, PA-NJ; Atlantic City; Jersey City; Newark (includes New Brunswick); Paterson-Clifton-Passaic; Philadelphia, PA-NJ; Vineland-Millville-Bridgeton; Wilmington, DE-NJ

Location of Volumes at Alexander Library
NJ volumes shelved with other geographical areas in the main Census Area.

Location of Maps at Alexander Library
Kept inside volumes

HC(3): Block Statistics

Coverage
Atlantic City; Trenton; Vineland-Millville; New York-Northeastern NJ; Plus a volume called Selected Areas-NJ

Location of Volumes at Alexander Library
NJ volumes shelved with other geographical areas in the main Census Area.

Location of Maps at Alexander Library
Located with volumes

1980 New Jersey

PHC80-2: Census Tracts

Coverage
Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton, PA-NJ; Atlantic City; Jersey City; Long Branch-Asbury Park; New Brunswick-Perth Amboy-Sayreville; New York, NY-NJ; Newark; Paterson-Clifton-Passaic; Philadelphia, PA-NJ; Trenton; Vineland-Millville-Bridgeton; Wilmington, DE-NJ-MD; Plus a volume called Selected Areas-NJ

Location of Volumes at Alexander Library
NJ volumes shelved with other geographical areas in the main Census Area.

Location of Maps at Alexander Library
Located in the file cabinet in DOCREF area of the government publications collection.

PHC80-1 Block Statistics

Coverage
Atlantic City, Jersey City, Long Branch, New Brunswick, Newark, Paterson, Trenton, Vineland

Location of Volumes at Alexander Library
NJ volumes shelved with other geographical areas in the main Census Area.

Location of Maps at Alexander Library
Located in the file cabinet in DOCREF area of the government publications collection.

1990 New Jersey

CPH-3: Population and Housing Characteristics for Census Tract and Block Numbering Areas

Coverage
Allentown-Bethlehem-Easton, PA-NJ MSA (Warren County-NJ); Atlantic City; Bergen-Passaic PMSA; Jersey City PMSA; Middlesex-Hunterdon PMSA; Monmouth-Ocean PMSA; Newark PMSA (Sec. 1 and Sec. 2); Philadelphia, PA-NJ PMSA (Burlington, Camden, Gloucester Counties, NJ) (Sec. 1, Sec. 2, and Sec. 3); Trenton PSMA; Vineland-Millville-Bridgeton PMSA; Wilmington, DE-NJ-MD PMSA

Location of Volumes at Alexander Library
NJ volumes shelved with other geographical areas in the main Census Area. Block statistics data included in census tract volumes.

Location of Maps at Alexander Library
Tract/BNA maps for NJ, NYC and Philadelphia are located in the file cabinet in DOCREF area of the government publications collection.

Available electronically from the Census Bureau Geographies site. 1990 maps are re-creations of the 1990 Census Tract/BNA outline maps and differ from the original 1990 Census Tract Outline Maps.

2000 and 2010 - All States

Census Tracts

Available electronically from the Bureau of the Census.

In order to view census tract data, start at the Advanced Search page. Select the Geography option at the right, and then select Tract from the geography list. To limit your data (e.g., Census 2000, Census 2010, etc.) select the Years or Surveys option.

Maps are available electronically from the Census Bureau Geographies site.

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.