Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Mini-course (Bio)Chemistry for Graduate Students

Created for Dr. Darren Hansen's graduate students - Fall 2011

Off-campus?

It is possible for current Rutgers students, faculty, and staff to access the Rutgers University Libraries' online resources off-campus. Be sure to go through the Libraries Website and you will be prompted to log in with your Rutgers NetID and password. 

Introduction to Online Resources

The Rutgers University Libraries offers access to hundreds of online resources.  During this mini-course, we will look at some of the more important ones in chemistry and biology.  Please see the boxes below for more information on the specific resources we will be looking at this semester.

CAS SciFinder-n

NOTE: In order to use CAS SciFinder-n, you must first *REGISTER* (click on the 'registering' link under the Connection note on https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/databases/cas-scifinder-n.)

CAS SciFinder-n is the electronic counterpart and continuation of the print publication Chemical AbstractsIt indexes chemistry literature worldwide, including journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, technical reports, government documents, and more. It is considered a comprehensive resource for chemical substance and reaction information, covering chemical structures, reactions, chemical suppliers, biosequences, and experimental and predictive retrosynthetic analyses for known and novel substances. It is possible to search by research topic, author name, DOI, patent number, chemical name, chemical structure, chemical reaction, and more. New features to aid your research include sorting by relevance, multi-tab browsing, citation mapping, and touchscreen-enabled structure drawing.  Coverage dates: 1907-present

Additional notes: SciFinder Web will be retired June 30, 2022. The client version of SciFinder was discontinued on June 30, 2011.

Reaxys

The Reaxys database integrates content from 3 major data sources (i.e., Crossfire Beilstein, Crossfire Gmelin, and the Chemical Patent Database), providing information in organic, organometallic, and inorganic chemistry.  It offers experimentally validated chemical structures, reaction and properties data, catalysts information, and a unique synthesis planner to evaluate alternative synthetic routes and identify the most effective strategy to use.  May also be referred to as Beilstein CrossFire Commander.

Web of Science

Web of Science is an enhanced web version of Thomson/ISI's citation indexes, including the Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Coverage is strongest in the sciences (more than 6,000 journals). Includes citations and references for articles in more than 12,000 high quality, peer-reviewed journals (including open access journals) – chosen for their credibility, influence, and relevancy – published from 1984 to the present. Also includes over 150,000 conference proceedings. Can be used to demonstrate the impact of particular articles and authors.

Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B)

Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) provides medically oriented coverage in bacteriology, with topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of people and animals.

BIOSIS Previews

The BIOSIS Previews database is a comprehensive index to life science and biomedical research.  Includes coverage of national and international meetings, reviews, technical letters and notes, meeting reports (from 1989 to present), software (1992 to present), and books.

CAB Abstracts

CAB Abstracts is a subset of CAB Direct.  The database contains more than 9 million hand-picked bibliographic and full text articles covering applied life science.

MEDLINE

PubMed

Science Reference Center

NOTE THAT IN ORDER TO USE SCIENCE REFERENCE CENTER, YOU MUST FIRST GO THROUGH ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER, THEN USE THE "CHOOSE DATABASES"OPTION NEAR THE TOP OF THE PAGE.

Science Reference Center contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.  More than 2,500 journals are available on ScienceDirect and Rutgers University Libraries subscribe to over 1,500 of these titles.

Annual Reviews

Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews of primary research literature in the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database with full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles.

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.