Landscape Architecture

Interlibrary Loan

How to do Interlibrary Loan:

If you need an article that Rutgers does not have go to the interlibrary loan page. Enter your NetID and password. Once on the ILL page, click ILL Book Request. Enter the requested information including the title. Click submit request. Allow 14 days for delivery from other libraries.

You can also find items at different libraries via WorldCat, and have them delivered to Rutgers (see WorldCat box on the Find Books page for details).

Get It From Another RU Library

If you find an article located at another RU Library you can get it sent to your email as a PDF. Allow a few days for delivery. It's safer to order materials ahead of time instead of last minute to make sure they get to you on time.

Articles: Find the periodical record and select article delivery from the yellow box. Enter your NetID and password. Once on the ILL page, click article request in the left-hand column. Enter the journal title, volume, year, inclusive pages, and article title, along with any other information asked for that would help librarians locate the article faster, like the source you found the article citation in. Click submit request, and you will get your article soon.

Major Indexes for Landscape Architecture

Academic Search Complete
OFFERS ABSTRACTS AND FULL TEXT. Indexes journals like "Living Reviews in Landscape Research," "Perspectives in Landscape Design," "Eden," "Landscapes/Paysages," and "Studies in the History of Gardens and Designed Landscapes," etc. A multi-disciplinary database with a large collection of peer-reviewed full-text journals. Offers information in nearly every area of academic study.
more...less...
How to Use Academic Search Complete:

1) The search screen will appear. There are many ways to search this database. Click the drop-down arrows next to the search boxes to search by author, title, subject terms, geographic terms, people, and journal name, etc.

2) Perhaps the simplest way to get started is to search by keyword (in the KW field in the drop down box). In order to search by keyword, develop a few keywords and keyword combinations that describe your topic. Enter your keywords or combinations (using "and" between terms.)

3) A list of records for your search will appear with title highlighted, followed by author, source, abstract, and subjects. There is also an "Add to Folder" button so you can easily keep track of articles you have found. Below that there will be a button for Full Text if it is available, or a "Get It @ R" button to search for it at RU.

4) Click on the title to view the detailed record which includes buttons to retrieve or search for the full text of the article, and author/title, periodical title, date, volume/issue, pages, ISSN numbers, abstract information, subject descriptors, and accession number information.

5) On the right-hand toolbar you can choose to add to folder, print, email, save, and cite the article. Clicking "Cite" will give you different forms of citations for the article (double check cause they're not always 100% accurate) and "Export" will let you export citations to citation software.

I'm here to answer your questions. Please feel free to contact me, Sara Harrington, Art Librarian, at saraharr@rci.rutgers.edu or 732/932-7739.

The links on this page go to databases that contain information about landscape architecture articles, books, catalogs, and more! (For help using the indexes, click on the "i" next to each name.)

A lot of databases offer full text of articles; however, if a database indexes citations or abstracts but not full text, you may not have instant access to the whole article. However, you can click on the Get It @ R button to see if Rutgers has it on another database or at the library. You can also request an interlibrary loan on the article or have a PDF of the article emailed to you from an RU library (see "Interlibrary Loan" and "Get It From Another RU Library" Boxes in the left column of this page).

Major Indexes

Access World News
OFFERS FULL TEXT. Use Access World News to look up news articles about architects and designs. Find articles about awards received, or critiques of works.
Art Full Text
OFFERS FULL TEXT. Great resource for architectural research. Bibliographic database that indexes articles (and reproductions) from art periodicals published throughout the world. Includes English-language, French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish periodicals.
more...less...
How to Use the Art Full Text database:

1) You will be taken to Wilson Web's Advanced Search Screen. In the bottom right-hand corner is a box marked "Subject Area". In this box, highlight Art (ART).

2) Perhaps the simplest way to get started is to search by keyword(s). Enter keywords that describe your topic- these keywords are your search terms, for example, "Andrea Cochran and garden." Keep in mind that too many search terms may produce few or no results, while too few search terms may produce too many results. You may have to try a range of search terms before finding those that work best for you.

3) If you are in immediate need of articles available online in full text, you can check the box marked "Limit to: Full Text Articles". For more comprehensive results, don't check any of the delimiter boxes. If an article is not available in full text, it is easy to request the article through Rutgers Article Delivery Service or interlibrary loan. See below for more details.

4) Search Results are returned in the following format:
Author. Article Title. Volume, issue. (Date) pages

5) Click on the hyperlinked article title to view the abstract.

6) If full text is available, there will be an icon to view/print the article in PDF or HTML format.

7) Clicking on "Search for Article" begins a search in IRIS, the catalog of the Rutgers University Libraries, for the Periodical Title listed in the citation. This will take you to a Rutgers University Libraries page that lists search criteria and lists links to full text electronic access for the journal or article, if it is available.

8) To check for print holdings, click on "Search the Library's Catalog by ISSN." A full record for the source, including electronic and print holdings, will appear.

9) If the article is not available electronically but Rutgers holds it in print you may request free electronic delivery of the article through Rutgers Article Delivery Services. If "Sorry, no holdings were found for this journal" appears, you may wish to consider ordering an interlibrary loan for the resource.

10) To send yourself citations from Art Full Text, place a check in the box to the left of the article list. Then, on the top menu bar, click "Print, Email, Save". On the next screen there will be a tabbed bar with the options "Print, Email, Save, Exporting" Click on the tab marked "Email" Enter your email address, fill in the subject line, click email and the citations and full text (if available) will be sent to you.

I'm here to answer your questions. Please feel free to contact me, Sara Harrington, Art Librarian, at saraharr@rci.rutgers.edu or 732/932-7739.
JSTOR
OFFERS FULL TEXT. Indexes journals like "Buildings & Landscapes: Journal of the Vernacular Architecture Forum," and "Garden History," etc. JSTOR provides electronic access to of back runs of more than 400 important scholarly journals. Includes Architecture, Art, and Art History, among many others topics. Click on the "Browse" option in the top menu bar for an alphabetical list of journals.
more...less...
How to Use JSTOR:

1) The search screen will appear. Perhaps the simplest way to get started is to search by keyword. In order to search by keyword, develop a few keywords and keyword combinations that describe your topic. Enter your keywords or combinations (using the word "and" between terms.)

2) Use Advanced Search to search in the article's full text, author, title, abstract, or in a caption. Use the drop-down arrows next to the search boxes to search by in these different fields.

3) A list of records for your search will appear with title highlighted, followed by author, and source. Below that there will be a link to a PDF of the article, and also a link to a summary, if they are available.

4) Check off articles you are interested in and then choose to save, email, export, or track the citations by clicking one of the buttons above the records.

4) Click on the title to view article on JSTOR. To view the printable PDF click the PDF link. Click the summary to view the article's detailed record.

5) To view where your search terms appear in the article, click on the article's title to view it on JSTOR, then click the "View list of pages with search term(s)" link directly above the article.

I'm here to answer your questions. Please feel free to contact me, Sara Harrington, Art Librarian, at saraharr@rci.rutgers.edu or 732/932-7739.