Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Childhood and Youth in African History: Document Collections

Government Documents and Other Official Records

Act for a Company Tradeing to Affrica and the Indies. June 26, 1695 (From Early English Books Online)

British Government Records:

Early English Books Online

This database contains scanned images of proclamations, acts of the English, Scottish and Irish Parliaments, and other royal declarations.

Indexes of British parliamentary papers [CD-ROM]. Tokyo : Bunsei Shoin, c1997. ALEX DOCREF J301.M4 1997

BOPCRIS: British Official Publications Collaborative Reader Information Service

See also: British Government Publications at the Alexander Library - A Guide to the Collection

 

Other Government Documents Collections:

French Colonial Africa: A Guide to Official Sources. Gloria D. Westfall. New York: Hans Zell, 1992. ALEX REF DT532.W47

 

More information on international government documents can be found on the Rutgers University Library research guide on International and Foreign Governments.

Church and Missionary Society Records

The archives of the Church Missionary Society, West Africa [microform]. East Ardsley, Wakefield, Yorkshire, England : EP Microform Ltd., c1975. Reels 1-3. North Nigeria mission, 1915-1925 -- reels 4-7. Yoruba mission, 1915-1925. ALEX M-FILM 2894 Reels 1-7

Council for World Mission archives, 1941-1950. Africa files. [microform]. Leiden : IDC, c1998. 513 microfiches. ALEX M-FICH 630 pts. 1-4

International Missionary Council/Conference on British Misionary Societies archives [microform]. Zug, Switzerland : Inter Documentation Co., 1977. ALEX M-FICH 629

[Pt. 1-8]. Africa General (403 microfiches) -- [pt. 9-17]. East Africa (426 microfiches) -- [pt.18-21]. West Africa (176 microfiches) -- [pt. 22-26]. French-speaking Africa (197 microfiches) ; Congo Mission News (61 microfiches) -- [pt. 27-28]. Portuguese Africa (101 microfiches) -- [pt. 29-33]. Central & Southern Africa (245 microfiches)

Methodist Missionary Society archives [microform]. [Zug, Switzerland] : Inter Docoumentation, [1981?]- 24,281 microfiche ; 11 x 15 cm. + 1 guide. ALEX M-FICH 524 and ALEX REF BV2550.A427W4 1981

Early English Books Online contains records from the Church of England.

 

See also:

Americans in Africa; a preliminary guide to American missionary archives and library manuscript collections on Africa, by Robert Collins and Peter Duignan. [Stanford, Calif.] Hoover Institution on War, Revolution, and Peace, Stanford University, 1963. ALEX STACKS DT1.C57

Other Document Collections at Rutgers

From protest to challenge; a documentary history of African politics in South Africa, 1822-1964. Edited by Thomas Karis and Gwendolen M. Carter. Stanford, Calif., Hoover Institution Press [1972- ALEX STACKS DT763.F73

Philip Rappaport collection of Niberian pamphlets, 1962-1971 [microform] [Chicago, Ill. : Center for Research Libraries, 1971?] ALEX M-FILM 2825

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.