Labor Union Research for the Labor Relations Community

Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary, full-text database designed for academic institutions. Although it contains less business-oriented titles than Business Source Premier (see below), it is useful when the researcher is targeting academic studies from the most important peer-reviewed journals. Rutgers Restricted Access

A database that covers most business and management topics including accounting, banking, economics, finance, international trade, marketing, and public administration. It contains the full-text (or abstracts) of articles from thousands of scholarly and professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines. This database also includes profiles of the world's 10,000 largest companies, reports for over two thousand industry sectors, and hundreds of country risk and economic reports. Rutgers Restricted Access

Weekly 24-page reports on current topics. Each issue includes an introduction and overview for the issue, a chronology, an "At Issue" column focusing on the pros and cons of some aspect of the issue, and a three or four page bibliography for additional information.

A comprehensive source of information on leftist and radical media. Rutgers Restricted Access

PAIS indexes articles, books, and reports on public policy and international affairs. Publications are from over 120 countries throughout the world. Rutgers Restricted Access

CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines. Rutgers Restricted Access

Web of Science is an enhanced web version of Thomson/ISI's citation indexes, including the Social Sciences Citation Index. It can be used for citation and subject searching. Useful for interdisciplinary research. Citations only. Rutgers Restricted Access

Primarily useful for legal research, Westlaw can also be used to research news and business topics. Includes Hoovers Company Records and a searchable database of SEC filings. Rutgers Restricted Access

Citations with abstracts of articles from more than 1,300 journals in political science, international relations, public policy and related fields. Rutgers Restricted Access

The newsletter of the Labor Project for Working Families, union-oriented nonprofit research and advocacy group, offers news and information on family-friendly contract language, resources, legislative updates, and interesting articles on work family issues.

The "Major Work Stoppages" report and the "Union Members" reports are of main importance. Links to pdf files of the reports are found on this page. The reports are updated yearly to reflect current trends.